What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Skype & Technology » Tech Talk » debug compiling in C++

debug compiling in C++
Author: Message:
Ash_
Senior Member
****

Avatar

Posts: 638
Reputation: 31
35 / Male / –
Joined: Aug 2004
O.P. debug compiling in C++
ok. im using Dev-C++ to compile my code. i know i must be doing something wrong when i compile because my compiled exe is like 100kb.

i know it's not really that big. but if i make 1 button it goes to like 454 kb. a friend said i was compiling in Debug Mode. how do i get it out of debug mode. i've checked the compiler options. and theres nothing about a debug mode there.

if anyone can be bothered can you please help, by either like tellin me which compiler is good (it's probly not the compiler, just me :S :P). or can someone make a quick makeit.bat?. or tell me how to get it put of Debug Mode.
[Image: jeansiger5.jpg]
12-13-2004 01:14 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
RaceProUK
Elite Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 6073
Reputation: 57
39 / Male / Flag
Joined: Oct 2003
RE: debug compiling in C++
Debug Mode in an IDE is usually set in the Project Settings, or the Active Configurations, or similar. In VC++, it's under Active Configuration. There should be a similar option in Dev-C++
[Image: spartaafk.png]
12-13-2004 12:35 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
TheBlasphemer
Senior Member
****

Avatar

Posts: 714
Reputation: 47
36 / – / –
Joined: Mar 2004
RE: debug compiling in C++
The bigger file-size could also be because of Dev-C++,
I thought it was using MING-W32 as compiler, which isn't natively for windows, but was ported...
Basicly, I suggest getting a Visual C++ 6 or 7

This post was edited on 12-14-2004 at 01:46 PM by WDZ.
[Image: theblasp.png]
12-13-2004 01:17 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
RaceProUK
Elite Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 6073
Reputation: 57
39 / Male / Flag
Joined: Oct 2003
RE: debug compiling in C++
quote:
Originally posted by TheBlasphemer
The bigger file-size could also be because of Dev-C++,
I thought it was using MING-W32 as compiler, which isn't natively for windows, but was ported...
It can also use Cygwin or gcc.
[Image: spartaafk.png]
12-14-2004 09:28 AM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On