What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Skype & Technology » Tech Talk » VB/Web Help

Pages: (2): « First « 1 [ 2 ] Last »
VB/Web Help
Author: Message:
Ezra
Veteran Member

Forgiveness is between them and God

37 / Male / Flag
RE: VB/Web Help
quote:
Originally posted by DragonX
code:
System.Diagnostics.Process.Start(URLString)

I just thought about that :P, you were quicker :D

This post was edited on 10-05-2005 at 02:29 PM by Ezra.
[Image: 1-0.png]

10-05-2005 02:28 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
CookieRevised
Elite Member

– / Male / Flag
RE: RE: VB/Web Help
quote:
What is the $ used for? I've never used it in a replace() before.
Almost every intristic string function in VB (note again: I'm talking about VB, not VB.NET!! It might be different in VB.NET) has two possible ways of use.
1) Firstly (and this is the one mostly used because people don't know any better) most of such functions are able to return a Variant data type.
2) Second, it can directly return a String data type.

Now... A Variant is a special kind of VB data type. It can actually hold all types of data types. In some cases, and used properly at given times, this can be very handy. But mostly, this just slows down your application _and_ is also the cause of many "hidden" errors in applications.

It is much slower because VB constantly needs to check what actual data type the variant is holding and it constantly needs to convert from variant to that data type in calculations, procedures, etc. The variant also uses extra memory (as it needs to hold extra information to identify the actual data type). Furthermore, a variant data type which is holding a number, actually has two data types assigned to it: firstly the number data type (can be integer, long, whatever) and second a string representing that number. Again extra memory and more slowness...