What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Skype & Technology » Tech Talk » My New Laptop Processor Question

Pages: (2): « First « 1 [ 2 ] Last »
My New Laptop Processor Question
Author: Message:
toddy
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar
kcus uoy

Posts: 2573
Reputation: 49
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Jun 2004
RE: RE: My New Laptop Processor Question
quote:
Originally posted by Msg Plus Freak
quote:
Originally posted by toddy
everest home edition
That's the one!
Thanks toddy.


its now discontinued now tho :(
01-03-2006 04:45 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
spokes
Full Member
***

Avatar
I <3 Rollerblading

Posts: 423
Reputation: 10
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: May 2004
RE: My New Laptop Processor Question
quote:
Originally posted by toddy
its now discontinued now tho :(


AWW, good job i got setup files for it, it is a really useful program

[Image: sig15ws.png]
01-03-2006 04:53 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
Adeptus
Senior Member
****


Posts: 732
Reputation: 40
Joined: Oct 2005
RE: My New Laptop Processor Question
You can turn this feature off by selecting the "Always On" power scheme in Control Panel's Power options.  Under all other power schemes, Windows XP does what it wants.

There is also this utility that lets you control it manually:

http://www.diefer.de/speedswitchxp/index.html

You may want to leave it alone even if you don't care about power, though.  It also serves to reduce heat (and less heat can only be a Good Thing).  The clock changes are dynamic and demand based.  When you were running a game, the processor almost certainly was at the maximum speed; you don't need it to be at that when it is waiting on you typing something in Word.

Windows doesn't do a very good job at showing how often the speed changes and how this really works. 


01-03-2006 05:16 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
toddy
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar
kcus uoy

Posts: 2573
Reputation: 49
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Jun 2004
RE: RE: My New Laptop Processor Question
quote:
Originally posted by spokes
quote:
Originally posted by toddy
its now discontinued now tho :(


AWW, good job i got setup files for it, it is a really useful program

you'll be able to find it one the net anyway, they mite even still have version on there site. i didn't look, i just saw the article on it been discontined
01-03-2006 05:31 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
paperless
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar
Saved by the bell

Posts: 1113
Reputation: 37
33 / Male / Flag
Joined: Apr 2003
Status: Away
RE: My New Laptop Processor Question
Thats cool n' quiet from what i can understand..

It checks 200 times a second how busy the computer is and adjsts the frequency automatically, reducing the power consuption and as a consequence the processor runs in lower temperatures..

quote:
Originally posted by AMD.com FAQ
AMD's Cool'n'Quiet technology is a system-level power management feature that effectively lowers power consumption of desktop PCs when maximum performance is not needed. When a system consumes less power, it runs cooler and requires less work from the fan, resulting in a quieter system.

It says desktop PCs but i think its used there as well or as toddy said its some kind of program made by the brand of your laptop.

ShawnZ suggested CPU-Z which tells you without trouble how much memory slots ( and all the information about your processor, mainly ) the comptuer has and which are being used, its easier than everest because the prog is only a couple KBs, its free and doesnt have so much menus and stuff to walk around .

This post was edited on 01-03-2006 at 05:57 PM by paperless.
01-03-2006 05:49 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Dan0208
Full Member
***

Avatar

Posts: 193
Reputation: 6
35 / Male / –
Joined: Dec 2003
O.P. RE: My New Laptop Processor Question
Thanks for all the replies guys. I got both those programs and they helped heaps in finding certain specifications on this new pc that i was unable to find.

I might as well ask this question in here too because everyone already knows the situation.
I have installed all the programs on my new laptop that i use for dvd burning on my desktop computer. (ie alcohol 120%, dvd decrypter, dvd shink, and nero that came with my other burner etc) however every time i try to burn something its fails during the process with a write error. I have already made coasters out of several cds,dvds. Does anyone know why this would be happening. The burner is same brand (pioneer) as my other one but i have never had these problems before.
Thanks
[Image: wetpix%20sig.png]
01-03-2006 11:56 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
paperless
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar
Saved by the bell

Posts: 1113
Reputation: 37
33 / Male / Flag
Joined: Apr 2003
Status: Away
RE: My New Laptop Processor Question
Thats really weird but.. sorry i cant help you in that one.

That error can come from a lot of stuff and it can be hard to diagnose.
01-05-2006 01:15 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Pages: (2): « First « 1 [ 2 ] Last »
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On