What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Skype & Technology » Tech Talk » expanding ram mamory

expanding ram mamory
Author: Message:
Exca
Senior Member
****

Avatar
Not illiteral, just ignoring you

Posts: 509
Reputation: 12
35 / Male / –
Joined: Mar 2004
Status: Away
O.P. expanding ram mamory
I've seen some weird things today at my uncle's computer.

His pc has 250mb ram memory, but he always uses more, so he bought a new 512mb one, of the same type, something with 3200 C3 ...
No combination with both worked... actually, if i just replace the original within the new, the computer reboots at the point the desktop should be loaded... if i replace the original one then back again, he works perfectly again. What the .... is going on? (.... = 3 possibilities)

Second:
His computer is connected to the powernet without ground, so there is constantly static electricy on his computer. However he has connected a ground cable with his heatning, which is grounded, and that should work. When I brush that cable to the side of the computer it's one and all blue electric fire (don't know how to call that). His flatscreen is also connected to a powercable with ground, the ground also doesn't work. If I grab the screenconnector that needs to be plugged in into the computer, i also get a shock. This isn't normal right :s I told him to ground his net and i am wondered that his computer still works that way. Anyway it hasn't got nothing to do with the new memory because i unplugged it completely...
But that is my opinion!

[Image: djexcaround.gif]
01-04-2006 10:23 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
Reaper
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 1393
Reputation: 23
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jun 2004
RE: expanding ram mamory
with the RAM, the motherboard has to support the speed, DDR400, DDR333 DDR266. look in the motherboard/computer manual and see what type of RAM the motherboard can handle

no idea about the power problem
01-04-2006 10:37 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Exca
Senior Member
****

Avatar
Not illiteral, just ignoring you

Posts: 509
Reputation: 12
35 / Male / –
Joined: Mar 2004
Status: Away
O.P. RE: expanding ram mamory
http://store.packardbell.com/Store/ASBEN/catalog/window.php?id=1576&

This 256 was in it. We have replaced it by a 3200 Kensington
512 ram...

Don't even know what the frequency is of the original one

This post was edited on 01-04-2006 at 11:08 PM by Exca.
But that is my opinion!

[Image: djexcaround.gif]
01-04-2006 11:07 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
Voldemort
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3504
Reputation: 49
– / – / Flag
Joined: Jul 2005
Status: Away
RE: expanding ram mamory
About the electricity there.... i think you mean sparks with the blue thing there?, in my pc when i touch the connector, i get a shock too, by computer with that pro was bought in late 1996 , and still works without any repair so i dont think its harmful for the pc.
*All posts are a purely speculative hypothesis based on abstract reasoning.
Not my daughter, you bitch!
[Image: ico-mollytrix16.gif]
01-04-2006 11:22 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Exca
Senior Member
****

Avatar
Not illiteral, just ignoring you

Posts: 509
Reputation: 12
35 / Male / –
Joined: Mar 2004
Status: Away
O.P. RE: expanding ram mamory
It doesn't harm your computer, it slows it down, very much...

My laptop has the half speed of his computer, tough my laptop is 3 times as fast as his desktop...

u see
But that is my opinion!

[Image: djexcaround.gif]
01-05-2006 03:15 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On