What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Skype & Technology » Tech Talk » Carltos Cool's "deathrig"

Pages: (4): « First [ 1 ] 2 3 4 » Last »
Carltos Cool's "deathrig"
Author: Message:
Anubis
Elite Member
*****

Avatar
42

Posts: 2695
Reputation: 64
32 / Male / Flag
Joined: Oct 2003
O.P. Carltos Cool's "deathrig"
Many of you may know the member from this forum Carltos Cool, well what you may not know is that in his bedroom he's got a whole load of electrical appliances plugged into one socket by use of extensions.

Now I have one of these extension bars that allow you to use 4 plugs on one mains socket, but the load should not exceed 13amps.

However he has a "5 in one" bar, on that bar he has 4 appliances plugged in (PC, Cable Modem, TV and speakers), the other plug on this bar leads to another bar, this one has 4 more appliances on (External HD, Monitor, Clock, Printer). These bars strongly say on the back "Total Load must not exceed 13 amps", now with the total load of the two interlinked bars he has an estimated usage of 27amps, and he uses these devices all at once at times.

In case I haven't explained this well enough, here's a diagram.
[Image: 16nn.gif]

And here's an image of the deathrig (the name I gave it) in operation
[Image: attachment.php?pid=609208].

Now he wants to add a third bar on this line for more appliances (likely his DVD Recorder and PS2 I'm not sure).
His appliances are already making funny noises (his PC makes a funny sparky sound).
And he has started having random power cuts since he made the "deathrig".

Now, the reason I'm posting this here. I know a lot of very intelligent people here (many studying this sort of thing), and I was hoping they would be able to explain how this is possible, that an estimated 27amps can be used on something designed for 13amps.

He's using the standard UK mains to power the deathrig.

.jpg File Attachment: rig.jpg (37.83 KB)
This file has been downloaded 384 time(s).
[Image: anubis5hq.png]
02-23-2006 08:22 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
_Humphreys
Veteran Member
*****


Posts: 1140
Reputation: 20
23 / – / Flag
Joined: Nov 2003
Status: Away
RE: Carltos Cool's "deathrig"
Yes that is accurate...apart from maybe change the speaker set for the more commly based PS2.

Now this has come to my attention I don't know what to do because as stated above I sometimes use them all at once.

Indeed I have had some dodgy things happening but i've had this "rig" for a year now...surely this can't be that bad.

* _Humphreys crosses fingers.

This post was edited on 02-23-2006 at 08:30 PM by _Humphreys.
AC3
02-23-2006 08:29 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
*Saint*
Senior Member
****

Avatar

Posts: 570
Reputation: 25
34 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2004
RE: Carltos Cool's "deathrig"
I have My

  • Xbox
  • TV
  • Lamp
  • Phone
  • Speakers
  • Screen
  • Computer
  • Satellite
  • Scanner
Plugged into my Power bar, for everything else

[Image: picture315nx.jpg]

Theres 6 Slots, but i used an extension cord with 3 extra slots to

does mine count as a death rig too :P

This post was edited on 02-23-2006 at 08:43 PM by *Saint*.
02-23-2006 08:43 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
M73A
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar


Posts: 3213
Reputation: 37
32 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2004
RE: Carltos Cool's "deathrig"
lmfao ... ive got 2 4 way sockets... but each going into seperate mains sockets...

[Image: lost7ru.gif]
02-23-2006 08:58 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Voldemort
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3504
Reputation: 49
– / – / Flag
Joined: Jul 2005
Status: Away
RE: Carltos Cool's "deathrig"
that it says 27 amps is just that if you exceed it it can burn, or short circuit because the wires are'nt designed for that load.
He can use it like that, but the risk of it short circuting, and getting something on fire is always there.
*All posts are a purely speculative hypothesis based on abstract reasoning.
Not my daughter, you bitch!
[Image: ico-mollytrix16.gif]
02-23-2006 09:24 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Anubis
Elite Member
*****

Avatar
42

Posts: 2695
Reputation: 64
32 / Male / Flag
Joined: Oct 2003
O.P. RE: Carltos Cool's "deathrig"
quote:
Originally posted by damm-o
that it says 27 amps is just that if you exceed it it can burn, or short circuit because the wires are'nt designed for that load.
It says "total load must not exceed 13 amps", he's using 27 amps. Over double what is said not to exceed
[Image: anubis5hq.png]
02-23-2006 09:40 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
_Humphreys
Veteran Member
*****


Posts: 1140
Reputation: 20
23 / – / Flag
Joined: Nov 2003
Status: Away
RE: Carltos Cool's "deathrig"
I've changed it now so both mains are taking equal amounts.

Both power bars said do not exceed 13 amps.
AC3
02-23-2006 09:47 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
evil_panda
Full Member
***

Avatar
Ahhhh...Rupert

Posts: 109
Reputation: 3
32 / Male / –
Joined: Jun 2005
RE: Carltos Cool's "deathrig"
quote:
Originally posted by Carltos Cool
I've changed it now so both mains are taking equal amounts.

Both power bars said do not exceed 13 amps.

But the first plug socket would be taking everything that the second power bar would be using...?
[Image: sig.jpg]
02-23-2006 09:56 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
_Humphreys
Veteran Member
*****


Posts: 1140
Reputation: 20
23 / – / Flag
Joined: Nov 2003
Status: Away
RE: Carltos Cool's "deathrig"
I have two sockets in the mains so I plugged on bar in the first socket and the second bar in the other socket.
AC3
02-23-2006 10:07 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
ShawnZ
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3146
Reputation: 43
30 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2003
RE: Carltos Cool's "deathrig"
i have a 2 > 6 connector in my outlet filled up, and a power bar plugged into that, and another plugged into that. also, my room has four outlets that are all split up. one has a light plugged in, one has another 2>6 connector filled up with a 3-outlet extension cord connected also, and one is empty. the two power bars are full. i've never had dodgy problems like that.
Spoiler:
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
02-23-2006 10:31 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
Pages: (4): « First [ 1 ] 2 3 4 » Last »
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On