What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger » Scripting » [Scripting Example] GetUserName

[Scripting Example] GetUserName
Author: Message:
matty
Scripting Guru
*****


Posts: 8336
Reputation: 109
39 / Male / Flag
Joined: Dec 2002
Status: Away
O.P. [Scripting Example] GetUserName
This example shows how to use the following:
Interop.Call
Interop.Allocate

code:
function GetUserName(){
   /*
      Allocate memory needed to store the returned username.
      Why do we need to use (2*(100)+2) for the size of the allocated memory?
          We do this because the maximum length of the returned string is
          100 characters (changes with different APIs). Since these are
          handled in Unicode we need to multiply the size by 2. Now the
          reason we add 2 is for a null character in unicode.

                     (Unicode*(MaxLength)+NullTerminatedString)
   */


// Thanks Cookie for pointing out that its actually UNLEN+1 and UNLEN is 256
   var sBuffer = Interop.Allocate(2*(256)+2);
// Thanks LJ I forgot I needed this.
   var lBuffer = Interop.Allocate(4);
   lBuffer.WriteDWORD(0, 255);
   Interop.Call('advapi32.dll', 'GetUserNameW', sBuffer, lBuffer);

   Debug.Trace('sBuffer: '+sBuffer.ReadString(0));

// Free the memory we allocated
   sBuffer.Size = 0;
   lBuffer.Size = 0;
}

This post was edited on 06-29-2006 at 04:50 PM by matty.
06-29-2006 03:30 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
JonnyT
Junior Member
**


Posts: 28
Joined: Jun 2006
RE: [Scripting Example] GetUserName
theres a lsight spelling mistake
code:
var sBuffer = Interop.Allocate(2*(100+2));
and in the debug i get nothing just "sBuffer: "
06-29-2006 03:46 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
matty
Scripting Guru
*****


Posts: 8336
Reputation: 109
39 / Male / Flag
Joined: Dec 2002
Status: Away
O.P. RE: [Scripting Example] GetUserName
quote:
Originally posted by JonnyT
theres a lsight spelling mistake
code:
var sBuffer = Interop.Allocate(2*(100+2));
and in the debug i get nothing just "sBuffer: "
Hmmm it should work... I will take a look at it when I get home, I am at work right now can't debug it.
06-29-2006 03:49 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Eljay
Elite Member
*****

Avatar
:O

Posts: 2949
Reputation: 77
– / Male / –
Joined: May 2004
RE: [Scripting Example] GetUserName
not as nicely styled as matty's but at least mine works :P

code:
function GetUserName()
{
    var sBuffer = Interop.Allocate((255+1) * 2);
    var nBufferLength = Interop.Allocate(4);
    nBufferLength.WriteDWORD(0, 255);
    Interop.Call('advapi32.dll', 'GetUserNameW', sBuffer, nBufferLength);
    Debug.Trace('sBuffer: ' + sBuffer.ReadString(0));
}
06-29-2006 04:03 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
matty
Scripting Guru
*****


Posts: 8336
Reputation: 109
39 / Male / Flag
Joined: Dec 2002
Status: Away
O.P. RE: [Scripting Example] GetUserName
quote:
Originally posted by Eljay
not as nicely styled as matty's but at least mine works :P

code:
function GetUserName()
{
    var sBuffer = Interop.Allocate((255+1) * 2);
    var nBufferLength = Interop.Allocate(4);
    nBufferLength.WriteDWORD(0, 255);
    Interop.Call('advapi32.dll', 'GetUserNameW', sBuffer, nBufferLength);
    Debug.Trace('sBuffer: ' + sBuffer.ReadString(0));
}

Oops... I forgot about the last param needing to be a datablock too. I will update mine.
06-29-2006 04:04 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
CookieRevised
Elite Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 15519
Reputation: 173
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2003
Status: Away
RE: [Scripting Example] GetUserName
PS: A buffer size of (UNLEN + 1) characters will hold the maximum length user name including the terminating null character. UNLEN is defined in Lmcons.h.

And Lmcons.h defines UNLEN as being 256 characters. So I suppose the correct length for the (unicode) buffer should be 2*(256+1)

PS2:
quote:
// Free the memory we allocated
   sBuffer.Size = 0;
   lBuffer.Size = 0;
Will be done automatically as soon as the function ends since the two are local variables though.

This post was edited on 06-29-2006 at 04:57 PM by CookieRevised.
.-= A 'frrrrrrrituurrr' for Wacky =-.
06-29-2006 04:40 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
JonnyT
Junior Member
**


Posts: 28
Joined: Jun 2006
RE: [Scripting Example] GetUserName
ah yeah that one works :)

so what else could this be used for?

This post was edited on 06-29-2006 at 04:42 PM by JonnyT.
06-29-2006 04:41 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
matty
Scripting Guru
*****


Posts: 8336
Reputation: 109
39 / Male / Flag
Joined: Dec 2002
Status: Away
O.P. RE: [Scripting Example] GetUserName
quote:
Originally posted by CookieRevised
PS:
A buffer size of (UNLEN + 1) characters will hold the maximum length user name including the terminating null character. UNLEN is defined in Lmcons.h.

and Lmcons.h defines UNLEN as being 256 characters. So I suppose the correct length for the buffer should be 2*256+2
Ya your write. Haha I will fix that. I am thinking maybe we should make a thread where scripters post examples for people to learn. That way we can keep all these types of threads in one place.

quote:
Originally posted by JonnyT
ah yeah that one works :)

so what else could this be used for?

In all reality nothing really, this is just an example of using Datablocks and Interop.Call/Allocate. But there are menu things you can do with the API etc.

This post was edited on 06-29-2006 at 04:45 PM by matty.
06-29-2006 04:42 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
matty
Scripting Guru
*****


Posts: 8336
Reputation: 109
39 / Male / Flag
Joined: Dec 2002
Status: Away
O.P. RE: [Scripting Example] GetUserName
quote:
Originally posted by CookieRevised
PS2: Will be done automatically as soon as the function ends since the two are local variables though.

code:
function TraceWin32Error(){
    var LastError = Interop.GetLastError();
    if(LastError != 0){
        var MsgBuffer = Interop.Allocate(1024);
        Interop.Call("Kernel32", "FormatMessageW", 0x1000, 0, LastError, 0, MsgBuffer, 1024, 0);
        Debug.Trace(MsgBuffer.ReadString(0));
        MsgBuffer.Size = 0; //Release the allocated memory now
    }
}

Why does Patchou do it in his example if its not needed?
Aside from it being good practise to get used to.

This post was edited on 06-29-2006 at 05:22 PM by matty.
06-29-2006 05:14 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On