What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger » Scripting » [Request] Auto Update Contact DP's

[Request] Auto Update Contact DP's
Author: Message:
artfuldodga
Full Member
***

Avatar

Posts: 178
Joined: Mar 2006
O.P. [Request] Auto Update Contact DP's
I've noticed that, sometimes  some of my Online Contacts DP's have not been updated, until I open a Conversation, or look at their Contact Card, can a script be made that will sort of Ping each Online Contact every so many minutes while they are Online? (even if you aren't talking to them) .. so their latest DP is always up to date? All of this done in the background of course, because it would be no good to see their Contact Card pop open or Windows open up every few minutes :)

This post was edited on 08-25-2006 at 11:39 AM by artfuldodga.
08-22-2006 09:09 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
CapriSkye
New Member
*


Posts: 6
Joined: Nov 2004
RE: [Request] Auto Update Contact DP
this would be useful...
08-23-2006 04:12 AM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
artfuldodga
Full Member
***

Avatar

Posts: 178
Joined: Mar 2006
O.P. RE: [Request] Auto Update Contact DP's
BUMP
08-25-2006 01:05 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
RaceProUK
Elite Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 6073
Reputation: 57
39 / Male / Flag
Joined: Oct 2003
RE: [Request] Auto Update Contact DP's
quote:
Originally posted by artfuldodga
All of this done in the background of course, because it would be no good to see their Contact Card pop open or Windows open up every few minutes
I'm not sure it's possible to do this in the background, since the DP is downloaded as part of a conversation connection (yes, even with the Contact Card). So you'd somehow have to find a way tyo start and end a conversation without showing the window.
[Image: spartaafk.png]
08-25-2006 02:30 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
artfuldodga
Full Member
***

Avatar

Posts: 178
Joined: Mar 2006
O.P. RE: [Request] Auto Update Contact DP's
hm :) that sucks if it cannot be done. why is it that ..  sometimes you have somebodys dp downloaded, you shut down WLM, restart... & some of the times, that persons dp (even last cached dp) seems to have disappeared & you have to click on contact card .. or open a conversation.. to see their latest one? ...

i guess my question is, why does it cache some dp's fine & others it misses?.. or atleast it seems to miss or.. wlm forgets where it was stored :P
08-25-2006 03:20 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
KnRd_WC
Junior Member
**

Avatar
Florian PAQUET

Posts: 74
Reputation: 1
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Aug 2006
RE: [Request] Auto Update Contact DP's
Hi again artfuldodga ;)

Maybe I found a way to update the DP automatically... (I am almost sure :D)

code:
var x = new ActiveXObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
var Contacts = Messenger.MyContacts;
var e = new Enumerator(Contacts);
for(; !e.atEnd(); e.moveNext()) {
    var Contact = e.item();
    Pic=Contact.DisplayPicture
    if (Pic) {
        x.DeleteFile(Pic,true));
    }
}

In fact, this script delete the DP cache. And, If a contact change his DP AFTER deleting the cache, the DP is updated. Here's the problem, because this script works only if a contact change his DP after unsin this function... :S

But I'm sure that somebody will find a solution... (Timer...) ;)
08-25-2006 03:37 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
markee
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 1621
Reputation: 50
36 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2006
RE: [Request] Auto Update Contact DP's
quote:
Originally posted by KnRd_WC
Hi again artfuldodga [Image: msn_wink.gif][Image: msn_wink.gif]

Maybe I found a way to update the DP automatically... (I am almost sure [Image: msn_grin.gif])

code:
var x = new ActiveXObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
var Contacts = Messenger.MyContacts;
var e = new Enumerator(Contacts);
for(; !e.atEnd(); e.moveNext()) {
    var Contact = e.item();
    Pic=Contact.DisplayPicture
    if (Pic) {
        x.DeleteFile(Pic,true));
    }
}

In fact, this script delete the DP cache. And, If a contact change his DP AFTER deleting the cache, the DP is updated. Here's the problem, because this script works only if a contact change his DP after unsin this function... [Image: msn_confused.gif]

But I'm sure that somebody will find a solution... (Timer...)
This won't work, all you are doing is deleting the picture files from the cache, you still need the connection to be able to get the new DP no matter what.  This can be done by opening a chat window (either you or your contact) or opening your contact's contact card (there might be others but I'm not aware of them).  The only way to be able to do this that I can think of is with a bit of an annoying script that opens conversations with everyone after a specified amount of time, then closes them about a second later (to make sure you got a connection with all your contacts).  The annoying part of this however is that you will have a whole lot of chat windows open up every so often and it will really slow your computer down while it opens and closes them all (I really don't recomend this).

This post was edited on 08-25-2006 at 03:49 PM by markee.
[Image: markee.png]
08-25-2006 03:48 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
KnRd_WC
Junior Member
**

Avatar
Florian PAQUET

Posts: 74
Reputation: 1
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Aug 2006
RE: [Request] Auto Update Contact DP's
Ooooops lol, you're right xD But I try, I try..... unsuccessfully :(
Sorry for this useless reply :$
08-25-2006 04:21 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
artfuldodga
Full Member
***

Avatar

Posts: 178
Joined: Mar 2006
O.P. RE: [Request] Auto Update Contact DP's
yeah I don't think opening up all your online contacts windows is the answer either :)....

thinking about it, this function should really be built into WLM anyway!
08-25-2006 05:29 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
RaceProUK
Elite Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 6073
Reputation: 57
39 / Male / Flag
Joined: Oct 2003
RE: [Request] Auto Update Contact DP's
quote:
Originally posted by artfuldodga
this function should really be built into WLM anyway!
And kill the bandwidth of every user, not to mention overload all the servers?
[Image: spartaafk.png]
08-26-2006 09:21 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On