What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Skype & Technology » Tech Talk » Remote IP address

Remote IP address
Author: Message:
Montago
Junior Member
**


Posts: 25
Joined: Sep 2006
O.P. Remote IP address
Hi there

Im sitting on my littlebrothers PC - my homePC is online, hence MSN says my PC is online

I want to remote admin my PC using Windows Remote - but my IP has changed


i've tried sniffing IP-packets - and using MSNplus Ping function, but the destination/source ip seems to be a router/proxy


any tricks i could try ??

This post was edited on 10-22-2006 at 10:14 AM by Montago.
10-22-2006 10:13 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
surfichris
Former Admin
*****

Avatar

Posts: 2365
Reputation: 81
Joined: Mar 2002
RE: Remote IP address
No.

What you really need to do is at home set up some sort of Dynamic DNS Service such as No-IP (http://www.no-ip.com/) where a client runs on your machine at home, detects when your IP changes and updates a DNS record for your domain so you can access it via hostname (example.no-ip.com) instead of the IP address.

You could also check out DynDNS: http://www.dyndns.com/

--

Another solution if you have some sort of web space is to use something like Dynamic IP monitor which uploads a file to your web site (via FTP etc) whenever your IP address changes - this means you can just call that file in your browser and have your most recent IP
10-22-2006 12:50 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
leito
Senior Member
****

Avatar
Chameleon by KeyStorm

Posts: 720
Reputation: 5
36 / Male / –
Joined: Apr 2003
RE: Remote IP address
No IP works really good.

Maybe you'll need to forward some ports too.
[Image: leonelgalan.png]
10-23-2006 01:54 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
ShawnZ
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3146
Reputation: 43
30 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2003
RE: Remote IP address
Phone the ISP, and give them your username and password (if you use a PPP service) and they *might* be able to tell you your IP.
Spoiler:
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
10-23-2006 02:04 AM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
lizard.boy
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 1707
Reputation: 24
32 / Male / Flag
Joined: Mar 2003
RE: Remote IP address
Would anybody be willing to write a script that responds to a user's message? Ie, you login somewhere and say "tellmeyourip" to your own logged in user and you get your home ip address?
10-23-2006 02:10 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
brian
Senior Member
****

Avatar

Posts: 819
Reputation: 43
– / Male / –
Joined: Sep 2004
RE: Remote IP address
Actually; it shouldn't be that hard.

Simply when a message with the value "tellmeyourip" is recieved, the client sends back (!IP)
10-23-2006 03:00 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
linx05
Senior Member
****

Avatar
Charlie!!!

Posts: 972
Reputation: 25
36 / Other / Flag
Joined: Feb 2003
Status: Away
RE: Remote IP address
Could you paste that script here please? I am thinking of using it to help with the utorrent gui.
For news on anything Tremors, visit Tremors News
End Darko
My blog about my film


Scripts I want to get made:
Taskbar icon to change when contact is typing
10-23-2006 05:32 AM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
ddunk
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 1227
Reputation: 51
34 / Male / Flag
Joined: Mar 2004
RE: Remote IP address
code:
function OnEvent_ChatWndReceiveMessage(ChatWnd, Origin, Message, MessageKind)
{
if (Message == "tellmeyourip")
    {
    ChatWnd.SendMessage("(!IP)");
    }
}
No login or whatever, but it works. (I don't really see the need for a login anyway, if you're worried about people triggering it, just set the trigger to something really obscure. I just don't think the login system is worth it. :p)

This post was edited on 10-23-2006 at 05:49 AM by ddunk.
10-23-2006 05:46 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
linx05
Senior Member
****

Avatar
Charlie!!!

Posts: 972
Reputation: 25
36 / Other / Flag
Joined: Feb 2003
Status: Away
RE: Remote IP address
Thanks. Regarding the login, it's fine. I'll only turn on the script for one day anyway. So it's no use.

I really should start learning to script.
For news on anything Tremors, visit Tremors News
End Darko
My blog about my film


Scripts I want to get made:
Taskbar icon to change when contact is typing
10-23-2006 05:59 AM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On