What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger » Scripting » [Question] Winsock?

[Question] Winsock?
Author: Message:
tryxter
Junior Member
**

Avatar
A. Maia Ferreira @ PTnet

Posts: 51
Reputation: 1
35 / Male / –
Joined: Jan 2007
O.P. [Question] Winsock?
Hi everyone.

Great forum here! I'm starting my first plugin now. I've got some programming experience.

Already searched the forums, and found something about the winsock problem (only packed with visual studios, and can't be used due to license etc). My question is: there's anything similar to winsock that we can use?

Thanks a lot!
(sorry my english mistakes, i'm Portuguese ;))

André Ferreira
01-07-2007 09:44 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
deAd
Scripting Contest Winner
*****

Avatar

Posts: 1060
Reputation: 28
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2006
RE: [Question] Winsock?
Depending on what you need you can use an XML HTTP request, but it's probably not suitable for what you're looking for (quite different from winsock :P).

You can also try to write a DLL/ActiveX object that allows you to do what you need.
01-08-2007 12:15 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
ShawnZ
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3146
Reputation: 43
32 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2003
RE: [Question] Winsock?
winsock comes with windows...
Spoiler:
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
01-08-2007 12:31 AM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
deAd
Scripting Contest Winner
*****

Avatar

Posts: 1060
Reputation: 28
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2006
RE: [Question] Winsock?
You can't use it in a script without having Visual Studio installed, and it violates some microsoft terms to use it :P
01-08-2007 12:34 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
ShawnZ
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3146
Reputation: 43
32 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2003
RE: [Question] Winsock?
quote:
Originally posted by deAd
You can't use it in a script without having Visual Studio installed, and it violates some microsoft terms to use it :P

what microsoft terms :-/
Spoiler:
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
01-08-2007 12:36 AM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
Adeptus
Senior Member
****


Posts: 732
Reputation: 40
Joined: Oct 2005
RE: [Question] Winsock?
tryxter,

It might help if you explain what you want to do.  Perhaps then someone will have an idea what you can use for it. 

Winsock is an API and, as shawnz correctly points out, it's part of Windows.   Winsock is not what you need; perhaps something having to do with Winsock is, but that is unclear.
01-08-2007 12:47 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
deAd
Scripting Contest Winner
*****

Avatar

Posts: 1060
Reputation: 28
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2006
RE: RE: [Question] Winsock?
quote:
Originally posted by ShawnZ
quote:
Originally posted by deAd
You can't use it in a script without having Visual Studio installed, and it violates some microsoft terms to use it :P

what microsoft terms :-/

http://shoutbox.menthix.net/showthread.php?tid=60242 Read that whole thread, there's stuff in there.

And it does come with windows, but I don't think a usable Active X control does...

This post was edited on 01-08-2007 at 01:10 AM by deAd.
01-08-2007 01:10 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
tryxter
Junior Member
**

Avatar
A. Maia Ferreira @ PTnet

Posts: 51
Reputation: 1
35 / Male / –
Joined: Jan 2007
O.P. RE: [Question] Winsock?
Sorry for not giving too many details.

The objective is create a listen server and a client. I'll be the server and another contact will be the client (that can be switched, of course).
Sometime ago, I've done something similar using VB and Winsock, that's why I asked for winsock...

Thanks a lot for all your answers! ;)

This post was edited on 01-08-2007 at 10:04 AM by tryxter.
01-08-2007 10:03 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Deco
Full Member
***


Posts: 188
Reputation: 4
41 / Male / Flag
Joined: Aug 2006
RE: [Question] Winsock?
Hey Tryxter..

Here's the code for a dll I made. It looks silly because I'm sending a message to myself.. but I use it to trick another program.

code:
using System;
using System.Collections;
using System.Text;
using System.Runtime.InteropServices;
using System.Net;
using System.Net.Sockets;

namespace CS
{
    [Guid("D6F88E95-8A27-4ae6-B6DE-0542A0FC7039")]
    [InterfaceType(ComInterfaceType.InterfaceIsIDispatch)]

    public interface _Functions
    {
        [DispId(1)]
        string SendPacket(string msg, int port);
    }



    [Guid("13FE32AD-4BF8-495f-AB4D-6C61BD463EA4")]
    [ClassInterface(ClassInterfaceType.None)]
    [ProgId("MPL.Functions")]
    public class Functions : _Functions
    {
        public string SendPacket(string msg, int port)
        {
            byte[] sendBytes = Encoding.ASCII.GetBytes(msg);
            UdpClient myClient = new UdpClient();
            myClient.Send(sendBytes, sendBytes.Length, Dns.GetHostName(), port);
            return "ok";
        }
    }
}


And then this is how to use it in the script.

code:
function OnEvent_Initialize(MessengerStart)
{
var obj = new ActiveXObject("MPL.Functions");
var msg = obj.SendPacket("teste",11000);
}

Oh and the dll isn''t originally mine.. someone sent it sorry I don't rememer who :/

HAve fun!

01-08-2007 04:43 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
tryxter
Junior Member
**

Avatar
A. Maia Ferreira @ PTnet

Posts: 51
Reputation: 1
35 / Male / –
Joined: Jan 2007
O.P. RE: [Question] Winsock?
quote:
Originally posted by Deco

code:
function OnEvent_Initialize(MessengerStart)
{
var obj = new ActiveXObject("MPL.Functions");
var msg = obj.SendPacket("teste",11000);
}


I can't use it to send data to other computers, do I?
"teste" is the string sent by the function and 11000 the port that is used right?

Thanks a lot Deco. (Obrigado será o mais razoável não? :p)
01-08-2007 06:51 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On