What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger » Scripting » [split] multi-dimensional arrays

[split] multi-dimensional arrays
Author: Message:
Spunky
Former Super Mod
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3658
Reputation: 61
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Aug 2006
O.P. [split] multi-dimensional arrays
quote:
Originally posted by tryxter
Off topic:
How can I declare a multidimensional array? like array[x][y]?
I tried "var xyz = new array(,)" and "new array([],[])" but it seems that isn't working...

I've already tried to read some reference but it's kind of messy on that part.
code:
var myArray = new Array();
myArray[0][0] = "A1"
myArray[0][1] = "A2"
myArray[1][0] = "B1"
myArray[1][1] = "B2"


IIRC, it should be like that

This post was edited on 01-10-2007 at 11:16 PM by WDZ.
<Eljay> "Problems encountered: shit blew up" :zippy:
01-09-2007 04:00 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
L. Coyote
Senior Member
****

Avatar
Captain Obvious

Posts: 981
Reputation: 49
38 / Male / Flag
Joined: Aug 2004
Status: Away
RE: [Question] Timer usage
quote:
Originally posted by SpunkyLoveMuff
code:
var myArray = new Array();
myArray[0][0] = "A1"
myArray[0][1] = "A2"
myArray[1][0] = "B1"
myArray[1][1] = "B2"


IIRC, it should be like that
Maybe not.

I once needed this type of array and had to do this:

code:
var arr = new Array();
arr[0] = new Array();
arr[0][0] = "blah";




Btw, from what I gather, it's not the timer, but what you do with it, what matters.



quote:
Originally posted by SpunkyLoveMuff
I've used multi-dimensional arrays before, but never with that method so I'm not sure if that is correct (I could be wrong though)
Well, JScript needs the Array variables to be predefined. If you don't tell it that arr[0] is an array, it'll tell you arr[0][0] is not defined.

I remember coming from using them in PHP and getting all these errors in JavaScript... I sort of learnt it the hard way... :P

This post was edited on 01-09-2007 at 04:40 PM by L. Coyote.

Hack, hack, hack!
Finally became a Systems Analyst! :spam:

01-09-2007 04:13 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Spunky
Former Super Mod
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3658
Reputation: 61
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Aug 2006
O.P. RE: [Question] Timer usage
quote:
Originally posted by L. Coyote
Btw, from what I gather, it's not the timer, but what you do with it, what matters

:rofl: That sounds familiar

quote:
Originally posted by L. Coyote

I once needed this type of array and had to do this:


code:
var arr = new Array();
arr[0] = new Array();
arr[0][0] = "blah";



I've used multi-dimensional arrays before, but never with that method so I'm not sure if that is correct (I could be wrong though)
<Eljay> "Problems encountered: shit blew up" :zippy:
01-09-2007 04:28 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Matti
Elite Member
*****

Avatar
Script Developer and Helper

Posts: 1646
Reputation: 39
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: Apr 2004
RE: [Question] Timer usage
quote:
Originally posted by L. Coyote
I once needed this type of array and had to do this:
code:
var arr = new Array();
arr[0] = new Array();
arr[0][0] = "blah";

That's also the way I do it. I have no idea how JScript would react if you try to add an array element to an array element which is undefined at that moment... Maybe I should try it. :P

Another way you could do it, would be:
code:
var arr = new Array(new Array("thing", "stuff"), new Array("crap", "blah"));

This post was edited on 01-09-2007 at 05:15 PM by Matti.
Plus! Script Developer | Plus! Beta Tester | Creator of Countdown Live | Co-developer of Screenshot Sender 5

Found my post useful? Rate me!
01-09-2007 05:10 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
tryxter
Junior Member
**

Avatar
A. Maia Ferreira @ PTnet

Posts: 51
Reputation: 1
35 / Male / –
Joined: Jan 2007
RE: [Question] Timer usage
[OFF TOPIC]

code:
var arr = new Array();
arr[0] = new Array();
arr[0][0] = "blah";
Before you suggested that, I tried it and it worked perfectly. ;)

I think this should be posted on the "Tips" section. Multidimensional arrays aren't well explained on MS documentation.

What procedure do you think it's best? I only tested one.

Well, thanks a lot to all your help. :)

[/OFF TOPIC]

This post was edited on 01-10-2007 at 09:48 PM by tryxter.
01-09-2007 06:47 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
CookieRevised
Elite Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 15519
Reputation: 173
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2003
Status: Away
RE: [Question] Timer usage
quote:
Originally posted by Mattike
quote:
Originally posted by L. Coyote
I once needed this type of array and had to do this:
code:
var arr = new Array();
arr[0] = new Array();
arr[0][0] = "blah";

That's also the way I do it. I have no idea how JScript would react if you try to add an array element to an array element which is undefined at that moment... Maybe I should try it. :P

Another way you could do it, would be:
code:
var arr = new Array(new Array("thing", "stuff"), new Array("crap", "blah"));

Both ways are exactly the same

quote:
Originally posted by tryxter
Multidimensional arrays aren't well explained on MS documentation.
Because they don't exist in JScript.

JScript does not support multidimensional arrays (which is well explained in the help page on the Array object).

To simulate multidimensional arrays you need to define a new array as part of another array element.

Hence, arr[0][0] isn't a multidemensional array (which would be only one object), it is an array which consists of other arrays (which are 1 + number of elements objects), which is quite different.

This post was edited on 01-11-2007 at 06:22 PM by CookieRevised.
.-= A 'frrrrrrrituurrr' for Wacky =-.
01-10-2007 07:38 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
tryxter
Junior Member
**

Avatar
A. Maia Ferreira @ PTnet

Posts: 51
Reputation: 1
35 / Male / –
Joined: Jan 2007
RE: [Question] Timer usage
[OFF TOPIC]

Yes, I know they don't exist. In JScript, arrays are treated like objects, and that's "the problem".

But if there's a way to do (or simply simulate) it, it should be explained, don't you think?
Unless there's a better way to do what multidimensional arrays do...

[/OFF TOPIC]

This post was edited on 01-10-2007 at 09:49 PM by tryxter.
01-10-2007 11:25 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
CookieRevised
Elite Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 15519
Reputation: 173
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2003
Status: Away
RE: [Question] Timer usage
[OFF TOPIC]

quote:
Originally posted by tryxter
But if there's a way to do (or simply simulate) it, it should be explained, don't you think?
Which is clearly explained in the JScript documentation:
quote:
Although JScript does not directly support multi-dimensional arrays, you can store any sort of data inside array elements — including other arrays. So you can get the behavior of multi-dimensional arrays by storing arrays within the elements of another array. For example, the following code builds a multiplication table for the numbers up to 5:
code:
// Change this number for a bigger table
var iMaxNum = 5;
// Loop counters
var i, j;

// New array. Make it iMaxNum + 1 because arrays start
// counting at zero, not 1.
var MultiplicationTable = new Array(iMaxNum + 1);

// Loop for each major number (each row in the table)
for (i = 1; i <= iMaxNum; i++)
{
    // Create the columns in the table
    MultiplicationTable[i] = new Array(iMaxNum + 1);

    // Fill the row with the results of the multiplication
    for (j = 1; j <= iMaxNum; j++)
    {
        MultiplicationTable[i][j] = i * j;
    }
}

window.alert(MultiplicationTable[3][4]); // Displays 12
window.alert(MultiplicationTable[5][2]); // Displays 10
window.alert(MultiplicationTable[1][4]); // Displays 4






Also, when one puts 1 plus 1 (elements of arrays can contain anything, including objects, and arrays are objects) you come automatically to how to make/simulate multidimensional arrays. I'm not sure if every basic thing you can do with objects, etc needs to be explained in 'tips'. It's basic programming...

[/OFF TOPIC]

This post was edited on 01-10-2007 at 07:32 PM by CookieRevised.
.-= A 'frrrrrrrituurrr' for Wacky =-.
01-10-2007 07:24 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
tryxter
Junior Member
**

Avatar
A. Maia Ferreira @ PTnet

Posts: 51
Reputation: 1
35 / Male / –
Joined: Jan 2007
RE: [Question] Timer usage
[OFF TOPIC]

Well, you're right.
Maybe I haven't searched correctly.

Thanks

[/OFF TOPIC]

This post was edited on 01-10-2007 at 09:50 PM by tryxter.
01-10-2007 09:47 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On