What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Skype & Technology » Tech Talk » Caching pages through code

Caching pages through code
Author: Message:
matty
Scripting Guru
*****


Posts: 8336
Reputation: 109
39 / Male / Flag
Joined: Dec 2002
Status: Away
O.P. Caching pages through code
Ok so here is my dilemma. My friends business website sometimes will load the content slower depending on the connection (obviously) now what I am looking for is a way to have the browser download these files to cache so they will load quicker when flash tries to read the file.

Is there a way of doing this?

I dont want to store it in an internal buffer in PHP because flash wont be able to use it.
06-11-2007 08:23 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Ezra
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar
Forgiveness is between them and God

Posts: 1960
Reputation: 31
37 / Male / Flag
Joined: Mar 2003
RE: Caching pages through code
Doesn't the browser cache xmlhttprequests?

If so you could make a couple of xmlhttprequests and don't use the response.
[Image: 1-0.png]
             
06-11-2007 09:28 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
matty
Scripting Guru
*****


Posts: 8336
Reputation: 109
39 / Male / Flag
Joined: Dec 2002
Status: Away
O.P. RE: Caching pages through code
quote:
Originally posted by Ezra
Doesn't the browser cache xmlhttprequests?

If so you could make a couple of xmlhttprequests and don't use the response.
Then the browser will ask (if using IE) to allow the ActiveX content, this is for a business website I don't want them to get the wrong idea.
06-12-2007 12:20 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
saralk
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 2598
Reputation: 38
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Feb 2003
RE: Caching pages through code
Couldn't you have a few iframes that are really small (1x1) that contain all the data that you need to load?
The Artist Formerly Known As saralk
London · New York · Paris
Est. 1989
06-12-2007 12:38 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
matty
Scripting Guru
*****


Posts: 8336
Reputation: 109
39 / Male / Flag
Joined: Dec 2002
Status: Away
O.P. RE: Caching pages through code
quote:
Originally posted by saralk
Couldn't you have a few iframes that are really small (1x1) that contain all the data that you need to load?
Good call, how come I didn't think of that :S
06-12-2007 01:15 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On