What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger » WLM Plus! Help » Problem with created sounds

Problem with created sounds
Author: Message:
Sliv3r

O.P. Problem with created sounds
Hi all,
I have a problem with my own created sounds. The standard sounds and the sounds, which I receive from my friends I can hear and also send to them back and they hear it. But when I create my own sounds from an existing file and send them to my friends, I can hear them but they cannot, they see only the code for example [sound] - Data{4BE04F1D1188} - ND - You Suffer. My friends to which I have sended my created sounds have all plus, so thats not the problem.
I hope you can help me...
06-24-2007 04:41 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
absorbation
Elite Member

– / Male / Flag
RE: Problem with created sounds
There is a variety of things that could be wrong here, and I'm no expert with the custom sounds feature, but I can touch upon it.

Are the sounds you are attempting to send the same? Is it the same file? There may be a problem with that file, which Plus! cannot convert (I believe the LAME MP3 encoder is used).

It could be your contacts have the option not to receive sounds, or download them without clicking a button. Tell them they have to press play, or turn the option on :);

[Image: attachment.php?pid=830504]

.png File Attachment: custom_emoticon_sounds_options.png (6.59 KB)
This file has been downloaded 190 time(s).
06-24-2007 05:40 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
ahmetgns
Veteran Member

39 / Male / Flag
Mine is only a workaround.

When you are sending your new sound for the first time, does a message which is saying "The sound is being sent to the server" appear?