What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger » Scripting » ChatWnd and its child - PlusWnd

ChatWnd and its child - PlusWnd
Author: Message:
nikyiu
New Member
*


Posts: 3
Joined: Aug 2007
O.P. ChatWnd and its child - PlusWnd
I want to create a PlusWnd which is always opposite with a ChatWnd, means their position can be adjusted at the same time (likes the playlist panel of winamp).

I've considered using setParent to make the PlusWnd be a child of the ChatWnd. But the PlusWnd even can't be shown if it is outside the border of the ChatWnd. How can I adjust the border of the ChatWnd and solve the problem?

Thank you very much!!

[Image: attachment.php?pid=842910]

.jpg File Attachment: setParent.JPG (9.69 KB)
This file has been downloaded 205 time(s).

This post was edited on 08-15-2007 at 08:14 AM by nikyiu.
08-15-2007 08:13 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
vikke
Senior Member
****

Avatar

Posts: 900
Reputation: 28
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: May 2006
RE: ChatWnd and its child - PlusWnd
You cannot do it with SetParent then. You got to subclass the chat window, and look for movement/resize messages.

Or you can actually do it a quite bad way, using timers, moving the window to fit the chat window.
4 8 15 16 23 42
08-15-2007 08:28 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Matti
Elite Member
*****

Avatar
Script Developer and Helper

Posts: 1646
Reputation: 39
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: Apr 2004
RE: ChatWnd and its child - PlusWnd
You can't make a child window exceed it's parents boundaries. That's not what a child window is supposed to do. According to your screenshot, you want to make a search field. (which is a pretty nice idea! (y)) I recommend you to subclass the chat window and move your PlusWnd when you receive a WM_SIZE (and eventually a WM_SIZING) message and change the positions of your child window based on the new window rectangle.

This may be tricky, so if you need help with it, PM me with your e-mail address and I'll try to help you out. :) I'll have to do some research on how to subclass windows first myself too, but once we have a WM_SIZE message, it'll be easy to move the child window. :)
Plus! Script Developer | Plus! Beta Tester | Creator of Countdown Live | Co-developer of Screenshot Sender 5

Found my post useful? Rate me!
08-15-2007 08:44 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On