What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Skype & Technology » Tech Talk » no-ip + dd-wrt

Pages: (2): « First [ 1 ] 2 » Last »
no-ip + dd-wrt
Author: Message:
Supersonicdarky
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 2317
Reputation: 48
– / – / Flag
Joined: Feb 2005
Status: Away
O.P. no-ip + dd-wrt
i set them both up and now when you go to http://supersonicdarky.sytes.net/, it shows the router status. how do i set it up so that it loads a specific folder on on of the computers when you go to the url without any extra options (like ports url.com:123)?
08-30-2007 02:48 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
joemailey
Full Member
***

Avatar

Posts: 291
Reputation: 9
36 / Male / –
Joined: Jan 2006
RE: no-ip + dd-wrt
What you mean by folder? you wanna host a website or something on your pc?

Reason its probably showing th router status is because the router probably has web based interface that loads.

So you'll need to forward port 80 to you pc probably and your'll either need website running on yo pc or ftpvsite running. of which you pick wht ever folder you want to use for the website or ftp sites home folder.


that any help ?

This post was edited on 08-30-2007 at 03:17 PM by joemailey.
08-30-2007 03:17 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
Supersonicdarky
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 2317
Reputation: 48
– / – / Flag
Joined: Feb 2005
Status: Away
O.P. RE: no-ip + dd-wrt
web interface is disabled, but web access is enabled. do i disable that?

ftpvsite?
08-30-2007 03:23 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
joemailey
Full Member
***

Avatar

Posts: 291
Reputation: 9
36 / Male / –
Joined: Jan 2006
RE: no-ip + dd-wrt
Ftp Site (hit v instead of space)

You could install filezilla server http://filezilla.sourceforge.net/

Run it as ftp site on your pc. Just configure your router to forward port 21 to your pc.

then you would use ftp://supersonicdarky.sytes.net/ to access it. (i think been while since i done this on my own pc)

08-30-2007 03:30 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
Supersonicdarky
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 2317
Reputation: 48
– / – / Flag
Joined: Feb 2005
Status: Away
O.P. RE: no-ip + dd-wrt
i know how to set ftp up, but how do i set up http? what do i do once i forward the port?
08-30-2007 03:34 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
joemailey
Full Member
***

Avatar

Posts: 291
Reputation: 9
36 / Male / –
Joined: Jan 2006
RE: no-ip + dd-wrt
you can run WAMP
http://www.wampserver.com/en/ use that as a web server.

Or you can setup iis6 on windows xp.

http://www.webwizguide.com/kb/asp_tutorials/insta..._iis_winXP_pro.asp

hope that helps :-)

Add me to msn if you want. joe [at] hardwareoholic.co.uk
08-30-2007 03:39 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
ShawnZ
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3146
Reputation: 43
30 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2003
RE: no-ip + dd-wrt
you should already have an HTTP server installed, called IIS. go to Control Panel > Performance and Maintenance > Administrative Tools > Internet Information Services to set it up.

This post was edited on 08-30-2007 at 04:15 PM by ShawnZ.
Spoiler:
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
08-30-2007 04:14 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
stu
Junior Member
**

Avatar
Stu

Posts: 82
Reputation: 1
36 / Male / Flag
Joined: Sep 2004
RE: no-ip + dd-wrt
I use Apache on my own computer to run my website. More secure then IIS. I have had many IIS hacking attempts on my server, so if you go that route, be sure to keep it updated with all security patches and updates if you are making the website public. If its only for local use then doesnt really matter
08-30-2007 04:50 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
YottabyteWizard
Senior Member
****

Avatar

Posts: 709
Reputation: 23
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Mar 2005
RE: no-ip + dd-wrt
I highly recommend Apache2Triad. It's an apache package which includes Apache, PHP, MySQL, FTP, POP/SMTP server, and lot more.

Once it's installed on your computer there's a file you need to edit called 'default.conf' and change the default directory to be served, for example 'c:\webserver'.

Now you're computer is a webserver, you can test your own websites going to http://localhost/  or  http://127.0.0.1/ 

Just be sure to have port 80 redirected to your computer from your router.
08-30-2007 05:48 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
ShawnZ
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3146
Reputation: 43
30 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2003
RE: no-ip + dd-wrt
quote:
Originally posted by stu
More secure then IIS. I have had many IIS hacking attempts on my server

"attempts", as in, unsuccessful? :p

btw, there have only been three IIS6 exploits in the last 5 years, and they've all been patched.

This post was edited on 08-30-2007 at 05:57 PM by ShawnZ.
Spoiler:
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
08-30-2007 05:55 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
Pages: (2): « First [ 1 ] 2 » Last »
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On