What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger » Scripting » Set window size

Set window size
Author: Message:
Neon_
New Member
*


Posts: 5
Joined: Oct 2007
O.P. Set window size
How would I go about writing code to set the width and height of the chat window to a specific size? or it this even possible? Thanks in advance for the help.
10-18-2007 10:01 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
deAd
Scripting Contest Winner
*****

Avatar

Posts: 1060
Reputation: 28
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2006
RE: Set window size
Use the SetWindowPos function :)
10-18-2007 10:03 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Neon_
New Member
*


Posts: 5
Joined: Oct 2007
O.P. RE: Set window size
So I think I have everything set except for the HWND param, I don't know what to put there exactly. This is what I wrote out for the rest of the line:

SetWindowPos(???, HWND_TOP, 0, 0, 700, 500, SWP_NOMOVE);
10-19-2007 02:07 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Spunky
Former Super Mod
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3658
Reputation: 61
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Aug 2006
RE: Set window size
HWND is the Handle to the window, a unique indetifier that Windows uses instead of a name.  If you can access the ChatWnd object, you just use ChatWnd.Handle else you will have to  iterate the chat windows for the one that you want
<Eljay> "Problems encountered: shit blew up" :zippy:
10-19-2007 09:34 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Neon_
New Member
*


Posts: 5
Joined: Oct 2007
O.P. RE: Set window size
All I'm trying to do is make a simple command that will resize my chat window to a specific size. Anyone think they can help me finish it? I'm kind of lost at the errors I'm getting. This is what I have so far:

code:
function OnEvent_ChatWndSendMessage(ChatWnd,Message)
{
    if (Message=="/sfix"){
        SetWindowPos(ChatWnd.Handle, HWND_TOP, 0, 0, 700, 500, SWP_NOMOVE | SWP_NOZORDER);
    return"";
    }
}

This post was edited on 10-19-2007 at 08:45 PM by Neon_.
10-19-2007 08:45 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
felipEx
Scripting Contest Winner
***


Posts: 378
Reputation: 24
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jun 2006
RE: RE: Set window size
quote:
Originally posted by Neon_
All I'm trying to do is make a simple command that will resize my chat window to a specific size. Anyone think they can help me finish it? I'm kind of lost at the errors I'm getting. This is what I have so far:

code:
function OnEvent_ChatWndSendMessage(ChatWnd,Message)
{
    if (Message=="/sfix"){
        SetWindowPos(ChatWnd.Handle, HWND_TOP, 0, 0, 700, 500, SWP_NOMOVE | SWP_NOZORDER);
    return"";
    }
}


it works fine here :)

code:
function OnEvent_ChatWndSendMessage(ChatWnd,Message)
{
    if (Message=="/sfix"){
Interop.Call("user32", "SetWindowPos", ChatWnd.Handle, 0, 0, 0, 700, 500, 2);


//SetWindowPos(ChatWnd.Handle, HWND_TOP, 0, 0, 700, 500, SWP_NOMOVE | SWP_NOZORDER);
    return"";
    }
}
10-19-2007 08:53 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Neon_
New Member
*


Posts: 5
Joined: Oct 2007
O.P. RE: Set window size
Thanks a lot, works like a charm, much apreciated. :D
10-19-2007 11:08 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Spunky
Former Super Mod
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3658
Reputation: 61
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Aug 2006
RE: Set window size
API calls work differently. You need to use Interop.Call to call them and pass the DLL name and function name along with any paramaters the function will use, just so you know
<Eljay> "Problems encountered: shit blew up" :zippy:
10-20-2007 05:43 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Matti
Elite Member
*****

Avatar
Script Developer and Helper

Posts: 1646
Reputation: 39
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: Apr 2004
RE: Set window size
And don't forget that those HWND_TOP and other constants aren't pre-defined in JScript, so you'll need to look up their values. A good resource for that would be m00.cx's Win32 API constants list.

I hope the following example (which is almost identical to the previous replies) will show you how all this is used practically in a way that you and any other developer can understand what it does:
code:
//I define the constants globally, because you don't need to change them anymore in the script and you may need them in multiple parts of your script. If you're only planning to use those once, it may be more interesting to use something like DoThis(/* HWND_TOP */ 0) instead of using DoThis(HWND_TOP) with HWND_TOP defined globally.
var HWND_TOP = 0;
var SWP_NOMOVE = 0x2;
var SWP_NOZORDER = 0x4;

function OnEvent_ChatWndSendMessage(ChatWnd, Message) {
   if(Message == "/sfix") {
      Interop.Call("user32", "SetWindowPos", ChatWnd.Handle, HWND_TOP, 0, 0, 700, 500, SWP_NOMOVE | SWPNOZORDER);
   }
}
Plus! Script Developer | Plus! Beta Tester | Creator of Countdown Live | Co-developer of Screenshot Sender 5

Found my post useful? Rate me!
10-21-2007 03:02 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On