What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Skype & Technology » Tech Talk » help setting up static ip and port forwarding

help setting up static ip and port forwarding
Author: Message:
- keef
Full Member
***

Avatar

Posts: 196
Reputation: 1
29 / Male / –
Joined: Apr 2003
O.P. help setting up static ip and port forwarding
ok so i have followed all the steps in this site:

http://portforward.com/networking/static-vista.htm

but when i check for open ports on this site:

http://www.canyouseeme.org/

the given ip is completly differnt from what i've entered manually. any idea why?
The more u study
the more u know
The more u know
the more u forget
The more u forget
The less u know
So why study!?

[Image: mp2logo.jpg]
04-06-2008 11:34 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
ShawnZ
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3146
Reputation: 43
27 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2003
RE: help setting up static ip and port forwarding
because the one you see on canyouseeme.org is the IP of your router, given to it by your ISP. the IP of your computer can only be used by other computers behind your router.
Spoiler:
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
04-06-2008 11:37 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
- keef
Full Member
***

Avatar

Posts: 196
Reputation: 1
29 / Male / –
Joined: Apr 2003
O.P. RE: help setting up static ip and port forwarding
so is there a way to check your own computer's ports? instead your routers ports?
The more u study
the more u know
The more u know
the more u forget
The more u forget
The less u know
So why study!?

[Image: mp2logo.jpg]
04-06-2008 11:40 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
matty
Scripting Guru
*****


Posts: 8337
Reputation: 109
34 / Male / Flag
Joined: Dec 2002
Status: Away
RE: help setting up static ip and port forwarding
quote:
Originally posted by - keef
so is there a way to check your own computer's ports? instead your routers ports?
Connect your computer to the internet instead of your router?
04-07-2008 01:41 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
- keef
Full Member
***

Avatar

Posts: 196
Reputation: 1
29 / Male / –
Joined: Apr 2003
O.P. RE: help setting up static ip and port forwarding
the problem is that the modem is in another room so i have to connect to a rouer
The more u study
the more u know
The more u know
the more u forget
The more u forget
The less u know
So why study!?

[Image: mp2logo.jpg]
04-07-2008 02:17 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
ShawnZ
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3146
Reputation: 43
27 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2003
RE: help setting up static ip and port forwarding
quote:
Originally posted by - keef
so is there a way to check your own computer's ports? instead your routers ports?

you can't access your computer from the internet, just your router. you need to make your router forward ports from your computer to its ports (manually) so people can use them
Spoiler:
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
04-07-2008 03:51 AM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
- keef
Full Member
***

Avatar

Posts: 196
Reputation: 1
29 / Male / –
Joined: Apr 2003
O.P. RE: help setting up static ip and port forwarding
is it like this for everyone?
The more u study
the more u know
The more u know
the more u forget
The more u forget
The less u know
So why study!?

[Image: mp2logo.jpg]
04-07-2008 04:39 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
ShawnZ
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3146
Reputation: 43
27 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2003
RE: help setting up static ip and port forwarding
yes.
Spoiler:
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
04-07-2008 04:51 AM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
- keef
Full Member
***

Avatar

Posts: 196
Reputation: 1
29 / Male / –
Joined: Apr 2003
O.P. RE: RE: help setting up static ip and port forwarding
you can't access your computer from the internet, just your router. you need to make your router forward ports from your computer to its ports (manually) so people can use them


ok. so say i want to forward port 80 for this comp i enter the routers ip in the port foward domain?
The more u study
the more u know
The more u know
the more u forget
The more u forget
The less u know
So why study!?

[Image: mp2logo.jpg]
04-07-2008 05:54 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
ShawnZ
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3146
Reputation: 43
27 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2003
RE: help setting up static ip and port forwarding
quote:
Originally posted by - keef
ok. so say i want to forward port 80 for this comp i enter the routers ip in the port foward domain?

yes, but first you have to set up port forwarding on your router.

see http://www.portforward.com/english/routers/port_f...ng/routerindex.htm for instructions.
Spoiler:
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
04-07-2008 10:49 AM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On