What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Skype & Technology » Skype & Live Messenger » High CPU Useage?

High CPU Useage?
Author: Message:
joemailey
Full Member
***

Avatar

Posts: 291
Reputation: 9
35 / Male / –
Joined: Jan 2006
O.P. High CPU Useage?
I'm running windows vista SP1

Windows live Messenger is doing my head in.

Version 8.5 and the beta 9 are running at over 50% CPU useage causes my laptop to slow down and animated emotions not to work.

Anyone else get this issue, I've seen people post on the web about it but no solution just getting on my nerves.

Also happens to my work PC which is XP but not as much as it happens on Vista laptop.

No spyware or anything on my laptop.

Its been like that from day one. just seems to be get worst.

grrrrrrrrrrrrrrr :@
07-18-2008 07:10 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
^_^
Full Member
***

Avatar
ayy caramba!

Posts: 151
Reputation: 10
Joined: Apr 2003
RE: High CPU Useage?
Hey, how many RAM do you have? windows vista needs more than 1gb of ram to work as fast as xp, if you have less it should run fine but a little slower, also check that your xp computer has enough ram. if both computers have enough ram memory, it may be a virus. Some computer worms attach to the messenger executable file and run without notice and consuming most of the computer's memory and bandwith. Try running your antivirus and antispyware in safe mode and reinstalling both messengers. Remember that beta versions have to be used with caution since some of them are unstable and can cause system or application crashes.

This post was edited on 07-18-2008 at 11:04 PM by ^_^.
07-18-2008 11:03 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Mike
Elite Member
*****

Avatar
Meet the Spam Family!

Posts: 2794
Reputation: 48
29 / Male / Flag
Joined: Mar 2003
Status: Online
RE: High CPU Useage?
RAM doesn't have to do anything with CPU usage.

What's your processor's speed?

It looks like WLM doesn't have any optimization at all: It will still render any non-visible animated emoticons.
Many animated CEs will use lots of CPU and the only way to "fix" this is to close and reopen the conversation window.
You can also disable CEs but you probably don't want that.

I really wish Microsoft does something to fix this... :(


I'm speaking from experience btw (1.06 GHz processor on a laptop, where CEs make WLM's CPU usage go up :()
YouTube closed-captions ripper (also allows you to download videos!)
07-19-2008 08:34 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
zach
Senior Member
****

Avatar

Posts: 556
Reputation: 18
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2005
Status: Away
RE: High CPU Useage?
Try an alternative IM client then, you shouldn't be using v9 anyway.
07-19-2008 11:37 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
joemailey
Full Member
***

Avatar

Posts: 291
Reputation: 9
35 / Male / –
Joined: Jan 2006
O.P. RE: RE: High CPU Useage?
quote:
Originally posted by zach
Try an alternative IM client then, you shouldn't be using v9 anyway.

I'm using 9 because I was an official tester, The beta is over doesn't mean I have to stop using it.

Oh as you can see from my first post it happens with 8.5 also. So get down of your high horse. Post if you have something that can help the issue or confirm it.

I have 4GB's of ram & an Intel core 2 duo 1.8GHz & 7200RPM 160GB hard drive in my laptop..
My work PC is similar except 3GHz Ram.


I don't think there's a fix just wanted to know if others experience the same issue.
07-19-2008 11:58 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
zach
Senior Member
****

Avatar

Posts: 556
Reputation: 18
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2005
Status: Away
RE: High CPU Useage?
Sorry, I was just assuming since that's usually the case. I don't know about the CPU usage problem so I thought if it was really an issue, you'd be better off trying an alternative than waiting for a fix. I haven't noticed a problem though with v8.5 & Vista SP1.
07-19-2008 09:48 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
joemailey
Full Member
***

Avatar

Posts: 291
Reputation: 9
35 / Male / –
Joined: Jan 2006
O.P. RE: High CPU Useage?
Yea its happening more and more often with me now doing my head it
07-20-2008 03:08 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On