What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger » Scripting » Window won't show up -_-

Pages: (2): « First [ 1 ] 2 » Last »
Window won't show up -_-
Author: Message:
dokueki
New Member
*

Avatar

Posts: 11
27 / Male / Flag
Joined: Nov 2008
O.P. Window won't show up -_-
I just started with the window starter tutorial on the documentation... Did everything they said, just copy/pasted and the window won't show up when I save the script D: ideas?
05-09-2009 10:24 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
Spunky
Former Super Mod
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3658
Reputation: 61
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: Aug 2006
RE: Window won't show up -_-
Save the xml file as Unicode in notepad ;)

<Eljay> "Problems encountered: shit blew up" :zippy:
05-09-2009 11:02 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
ryxdp
Senior Member
****


Posts: 804
Reputation: 16
24 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jun 2006
RE: Window won't show up -_-
Also, if you've just copied and pasted the windows, you should make sure to change the window ids to something else, as these windows already exist in Messenger Plus! and AFAIK may cause issues when trying to create them.
05-09-2009 11:07 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Spunky
Former Super Mod
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3658
Reputation: 61
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: Aug 2006
RE: Window won't show up -_-
quote:
Originally posted by ryxdp
Also, if you've just copied and pasted the windows, you should make sure to change the window ids to something else, as these windows already exist in Messenger Plus! and AFAIK may cause issues when trying to create them.

WindowIDs do not need be unique across the board... You can use the same WindowID in for multiple windows in a single script as long as the xml for each is in a separate file. In fact, I think you can have multiple instances of the same window open too for that matter (for example the desktop contact window is re-used)
<Eljay> "Problems encountered: shit blew up" :zippy:
05-09-2009 11:23 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
dokueki
New Member
*

Avatar

Posts: 11
27 / Male / Flag
Joined: Nov 2008
O.P. RE: Window won't show up -_-
quote:
Originally posted by Spunky
Save the xml file as Unicode in notepad ;)
quote:
Originally posted by ryxdp
Also, if you've just copied and pasted the windows, you should make sure to change the window ids to something else, as these windows already exist in Messenger Plus! and AFAIK may cause issues when trying to create them.
Neither works :(
05-09-2009 10:57 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
ryxdp
Senior Member
****


Posts: 804
Reputation: 16
24 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jun 2006
RE: RE: Window won't show up -_-
quote:
Originally posted by Spunky
WindowIDs do not need be unique across the board... You can use the same WindowID in for multiple windows in a single script as long as the xml for each is in a separate file. In fact, I think you can have multiple instances of the same window open too for that matter (for example the desktop contact window is re-used)

Alright then. I was thinking that if a script had a window with an id that Plus's own interface was already using, it might have confused Plus a bit.
05-09-2009 11:04 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
matty
Scripting Guru
*****


Posts: 8337
Reputation: 109
34 / Male / Flag
Joined: Dec 2002
Status: Away
RE: Window won't show up -_-
Post the code you use to create the window and the XML of the window itself.
05-09-2009 11:36 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
felipEx
Scripting Contest Winner
***


Posts: 378
Reputation: 24
30 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jun 2006
RE: Window won't show up -_-
Try to preview your interface xml file by using MP! Interface tester and see if you can preview your window correctly (if not so, you'll get an error message telling you why the window couldn't be loaded). Also, make sure you're calling the MsgPlus.CreateWnd function correctly. ;-)
05-10-2009 12:11 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
dokueki
New Member
*

Avatar

Posts: 11
27 / Male / Flag
Joined: Nov 2008
O.P. RE: RE: Window won't show up -_-
quote:
Originally posted by felipEx
Try to preview your interface xml file by using MP! Interface tester and see if you can preview your window correctly (if not so, you'll get an error message telling you why the window couldn't be loaded). Also, make sure you're calling the MsgPlus.CreateWnd function correctly. ;-)
It says "Error" but doesn't say what exactly. Here's the code... As copy/pasted from the docs, lol.
code:
<Interfaces xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
    <Window Id="WndTest" Version="1">
        <Attributes>
            <Caption>Test Window</Caption>
        </Attributes>
        <TitleBar>
            <Title><Text>Hello!</Text></Title>
        </TitleBar>
        <Position ClientWidth="170" ClientHeight="45"/>
        <DialogTmpl/>
        <Controls>
            <Control xsi:type="StaticControl" Id="LblTop">
                <Position Left="10" Top="10" Width="150"/>
                <Caption>Hello world!</Caption>
            </Control>
            <Control xsi:type="ButtonControl" Id="BtnClose">
                <Position Left="115" Top="25" Width="50"/>
                <Caption>Close</Caption>
            </Control>
        </Controls>
    </Window>
</Interfaces>
code:
function OnEvent_Initialize(MessengerStart)
{
    var Wnd = MsgPlus.CreateWnd("InterfaceTest.xml", "WndTest");
}
Both are in the same directory.

This post was edited on 05-11-2009 at 02:17 PM by dokueki.
05-11-2009 02:13 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
matty
Scripting Guru
*****


Posts: 8337
Reputation: 109
34 / Male / Flag
Joined: Dec 2002
Status: Away
RE: Window won't show up -_-
First things first you are missing a big chunk of the header:

XML code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-16"?><Interfaces xmlns="urn:msgplus:interface" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" xsi:schemaLocation="urn:msgplus:interface PlusInterface.xsd">    <Window Id="WndTest" Version="1">
        <Attributes>
            <Caption>Test Window</Caption>
        </Attributes>
        <TitleBar>
            <Title><Text>Hello!</Text></Title>
        </TitleBar>
        <Position ClientWidth="170" ClientHeight="45"/>
        <DialogTmpl/>
        <Controls>
            <Control xsi:type="StaticControl" Id="LblTop">
                <Position Left="10" Top="10" Width="150"/>
                <Caption>Hello world!</Caption>
            </Control>
            <Control xsi:type="ButtonControl" Id="BtnClose">
                <Position Left="115" Top="25" Width="50"/>
                <Caption>Close</Caption>
            </Control>
        </Controls>
    </Window>
</Interfaces>


This post was edited on 05-11-2009 at 03:02 PM by matty.
05-11-2009 03:01 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Pages: (2): « First [ 1 ] 2 » Last »
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On