What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Skype & Technology » Tech Talk » no http,

no http,
Author: Message:
Jarrod
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar
woot simpson

Posts: 1304
Reputation: 20
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Sep 2006
O.P. no http,
At work today I came across a problem I was unable to resolve,
I set up the nice lady's modem then connected it to her computer, the modem passed all it's diagnostics and I was able to ping/tracert any site on the internet; yet what ever site I tried to connect to displayed an error 404, and it happened on an array of computers, including my macbook, and when I booted the machine into ubuntu

[Image: 5344.png]
[Image: sig.png]

A.k.a. The Glad Falconer














12-22-2009 11:43 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Dempsey
Scripting Contest Winner
*****

Avatar
http://AdamDempsey.net

Posts: 2395
Reputation: 53
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2003
RE: no http,
Sounds like DNS.

When you say you could ping sites, was that via IP or domain?

Is it a modem plugged directly into the computer or a router/modem?  If so is it a DHCP network or static?
SoundPacks   -   Scripts   -   Skins

that's not a bug, thats an unexpected feature
12-22-2009 12:28 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
foaly
Senior Member
****

Avatar

Posts: 718
Reputation: 20
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2006
RE: no http,
try surfing to:
3639556968
If you get google, it's a DNS problem...
12-22-2009 02:46 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Adeptus
Senior Member
****


Posts: 732
Reputation: 40
Joined: Oct 2005
RE: no http,
The "user friendly" error messages, particularly from IE, can make it hard to tell what's really going on.  However, if he in fact got 404 (HTTP "not found") errors, that wouldn't be DNS -- you have to successfully reach a server to get the error. 

The only thing that I can think of that could cause this on multiple computers would be a failure at a transparent proxy. 
12-22-2009 03:26 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Jarrod
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar
woot simpson

Posts: 1304
Reputation: 20
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Sep 2006
O.P. RE: no http,
when I say I could ping/tracert google.com, I could ping/tracert "google.com" I was using the domain name and it was returning an IP address, I tried IE using the IP address also; and it didn't work. I didn't try 3639556968, but I think it was a bit more tricky than that. the modem had a dns query in it's tests which passed and I also tried using google's DNS 8.8.8.8 but I still couldn't get it to work.

[Image: 5344.png]
[Image: sig.png]

A.k.a. The Glad Falconer














12-22-2009 11:05 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On