What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Skype & Technology » Skype & Live Messenger » Updae messed my msn up, wont minimize to tray and gives me double screen!

Updae messed my msn up, wont minimize to tray and gives me double screen!
Author: Message:
wiz9
New Member
*


Posts: 3
Joined: Jun 2006
O.P. Updae messed my msn up, wont minimize to tray and gives me double screen!
I have just installed the newest update that popped up today when I logged into MSN Live Messenger.

I am running Windows 7.

It installed and everythign was fine.

But when I opened MSN I realized that I could not minimize MSN to the system tray.  Which I had set it up to do so before.

And a double MSN Screen shows up:

There is the one sitting on the task bar, and when i click on it to open the program a second one pops up on the task bar immedietly beside it.

Also if I hit the X on the screen it doesnt minimize it just closes the program.

I want to have it dissapear from my task bar and minimize to system tray, this is SO ANNOYING!!!
01-23-2010 05:17 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
djdannyp
Elite Member
*****

Avatar
Danny <3 Sarah

Posts: 3546
Reputation: 31
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Mar 2006
RE: Updae messed my msn up, wont minimize to tray and gives me double screen!
This is by design for Windows 7, it is a feature of Windows Live Messenger, not one of Messenger Plus!Live.  The only way to get it to appear in the system tray is by running in compatibility mode however this is STRONGLY not recommended as it can cause performance issues
[Image: 1ftt0hpk-signature.png]
AutoStatus Script || Facebook Status Script
4554 days, 1 hour, 44 minutes, 30 seconds ago
01-23-2010 06:31 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Chris4
Elite Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 4461
Reputation: 84
30 / Male / Flag
Joined: Dec 2004
RE: Updae messed my msn up, wont minimize to tray and gives me double screen!
Right click the taskbar > Properties > Always combine.

As I described in this post, it's there to keep you signed in.

[Image: taskbar2.png]

quote:
Originally posted by SonicSam
quote:
Originally posted by krissy-afc
So there's not fix for this? Unless i keep the taskbar grouped?
No, just accept the problem until new WLM is out :p

This post was edited on 01-23-2010 at 08:31 PM by Chris4.
Twitter: @ChrisLozeau
01-23-2010 08:30 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Chrissy
Senior Member
****

Avatar

Posts: 850
Reputation: 5
27 / Male / Flag
Joined: Nov 2009
RE: Updae messed my msn up, wont minimize to tray and gives me double screen!
I recommend changing the compatibility settings. It's the only fix.

quote:
Originally posted by djdannyp
however this is STRONGLY not recommended as it can cause performance issues
Nor me or anyone i know has had any problems.
01-24-2010 01:57 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
MeEtc
Patchou's look-alike
*****

Avatar
In the Shadow Gallery once again

Posts: 2200
Reputation: 60
36 / Male / Flag
Joined: Nov 2004
Status: Away
RE: Updae messed my msn up, wont minimize to tray and gives me double screen!
There is another issue that I am aware of with compatibility and tabbed chats. When the conversation window is moved, not all the conversations move, and a phantom window is left in place. This is just a small example of what can happen. Other problems may exist behind the scenes that are not seen as easily.

it is STRONGLY recommended to NOT use compatibility mode
[Image: signature/]     [Image: sharing.png]
I cannot hear you. There is a banana in my ear.
01-24-2010 02:12 AM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
robert_dll
Full Member
***

Avatar

Posts: 393
Reputation: 8
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Aug 2008
RE: Updae messed my msn up, wont minimize to tray and gives me double screen!
It's not that bad. It feels weird at the beginning but you get used to it.
01-24-2010 02:33 AM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
Chrissy
Senior Member
****

Avatar

Posts: 850
Reputation: 5
27 / Male / Flag
Joined: Nov 2009
RE: Updae messed my msn up, wont minimize to tray and gives me double screen!
quote:
Originally posted by MeEtc
There is another issue that I am aware of with compatibility and tabbed chats. When the conversation window is moved, not all the conversations move, and a phantom window is left in place. This is just a small example of what can happen. Other problems may exist behind the scenes that are not seen as easily.

it is STRONGLY recommended to NOT use compatibility mode
None of this has ever happened to me.

I've had no problems at all.
01-24-2010 04:10 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
blessedguy
Skinning Contest Winner
*****

Avatar

Posts: 1762
Reputation: 25
29 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2008
RE: Updae messed my msn up, wont minimize to tray and gives me double screen!
quote:
Originally posted by krissy-afc
None of this has ever happened to me.
But all of that can happen.

It is STRONGLY recommended NOT to use the compatibility mode, unless you want to take the risk.
[Image: Empty.png]
01-24-2010 04:47 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
ryxdp
Senior Member
****


Posts: 804
Reputation: 16
27 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jun 2006
RE: RE: Updae messed my msn up, wont minimize to tray and gives me double screen!
quote:
Originally posted by blessedguy
It is STRONGLY recommended NOT to use the compatibility mode, unless you want to take the risk.

Or unless you don't even use the features which have issues. As long as you don't use tabbed chats, etc. everything seems to work properly.
01-25-2010 12:19 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On