What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Skype & Technology » Tech Talk » Unable to power on the PC after adding 2nd hard drive

Unable to power on the PC after adding 2nd hard drive
Author: Message:
alegator
Senior Member
****


Posts: 569
Reputation: 4
Joined: Nov 2004
O.P. Huh?  Unable to power on the PC after adding 2nd hard drive
I have a Dell Dimension 8200 desktop PC. It only has the main OS hard drive installed. Occasionally I add a 2nd internal drive to clone the main drive for backup purposes. It has been performing perfectly for many years. Since a month ago, whenever I add the 2nd internal drive the PC is unable to power on, it's dead. So I have to remove the 2nd drive, wait for at least one hour (who knows why) with the power cord unplugged and after that it will power on normally and function perfectly.
I checked the 2nd hard drive and it is in good condition, in fact this happens with ANY 2nd hard drive that I add. I also tried another IDE cable unsuccessfully. So I have no idea what can be causing this. Any suggestions? Thanks.
03-19-2010 07:17 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
djdannyp
Elite Member
*****

Avatar
Danny <3 Sarah

Posts: 3546
Reputation: 31
37 / Male / Flag
Joined: Mar 2006
RE: Unable to power on the PC after adding 2nd hard drive
Have you tried another power cable?  Or plugging the second hard drive into a different power cable (if there's any fre in there)
[Image: 1ftt0hpk-signature.png]
AutoStatus Script || Facebook Status Script
5263 days, 9 hours, 35 minutes, 39 seconds ago
03-19-2010 11:34 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
MeEtc
Patchou's look-alike
*****

Avatar
In the Shadow Gallery once again

Posts: 2200
Reputation: 60
38 / Male / Flag
Joined: Nov 2004
Status: Away
RE: Unable to power on the PC after adding 2nd hard drive
If they are PATA/IDE drives with a wide ribbon cable, you will need to change the jumper on the back of the drive to specify a master and slave drive. If its SATA, not sure.
Have you tried connecting just the new drive?
Have you tried powering the drive and leaving the data cable unplugged?
What is the wattage on the power supply? Many budget systems have a power supply only large enough for what comes standard and nothing else.

This post was edited on 03-20-2010 at 02:13 AM by MeEtc.
[Image: signature/]     [Image: sharing.png]
I cannot hear you. There is a banana in my ear.
03-20-2010 02:12 AM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
Th3rmal
Veteran Member
*****

Peek-a-boo! I see you!!

Posts: 1226
Reputation: 26
32 / Male / Flag
Joined: Aug 2005
RE: Unable to power on the PC after adding 2nd hard drive
quote:
Originally posted by MeEtc

What is the wattage on the power supply? Many budget systems have a power supply only large enough for what comes standard and nothing else.
quote:
Originally posted by alegator
Occasionally I add a 2nd internal drive to clone the main drive for backup purposes. It has been performing perfectly for many years
If he has been doing that for many years, I doubt the PSU wattage would be the problem
You have the intellect comparable to that of a rock. Be proud.
03-20-2010 03:48 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
toddy
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar
kcus uoy

Posts: 2573
Reputation: 49
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Jun 2004
RE: Unable to power on the PC after adding 2nd hard drive
[Image: ideal_61-096.jpg]
03-20-2010 07:24 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
CookieRevised
Elite Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 15519
Reputation: 173
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2003
Status: Away
RE: Unable to power on the PC after adding 2nd hard drive
quote:
Originally posted by Th3rmal
quote:
Originally posted by MeEtc

What is the wattage on the power supply? Many budget systems have a power supply only large enough for what comes standard and nothing else.
quote:
Originally posted by alegator
Occasionally I add a 2nd internal drive to clone the main drive for backup purposes. It has been performing perfectly for many years
If he has been doing that for many years, I doubt the PSU wattage would be the problem
If the power usage was near the limit and stressed for many years, it could be a sign of a 'dying' PSU though...

That he has to wait for an hour to be able to power up again sounds strange too (almost sounds like something overheating or a n elco/collector/whatever not properly releasing stored power or something). I would first try to replace the PSU if something like that happens.
.-= A 'frrrrrrrituurrr' for Wacky =-.
03-20-2010 09:39 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
alegator
Senior Member
****


Posts: 569
Reputation: 4
Joined: Nov 2004
O.P. RE: Unable to power on the PC after adding 2nd hard drive
Thanks everyone for their replies.
Let me say that:
1) The power supply is the original that came with my system, it has the specs necessary to support a 2nd internal drive.
2) The "open,install,close" cycles should only affect two things: the IDE cable (that's why I tried with a new one) or the power connector. The power connector is supplying the right voltage since I tested it with the main drive and works fine.
3) My system does not support cloning over USB, and even if I were able to do it it would take ages to transfer 160Gb of data.
4) Both hard drives are set to CS, but jumper settings have nothing to do with this issue, the system should still be able to power on.
I tried a Y-splitter to the known good connector and no luck, still same problem. What I mean by not powering is that when I push the power button the PC does not turn on at all, as if it were unplugged from the power outlet. This happens only when two internal hard drives are installed. When only one main drive is installed (no 2nd drive) the PC starts normally.
I'm more and more convinced that it's the power supply.
03-20-2010 12:42 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
alegator
Senior Member
****


Posts: 569
Reputation: 4
Joined: Nov 2004
O.P. RE: Unable to power on the PC after adding 2nd hard drive
I found a workaround to this issue without having to replace the PSU. I unplugged the DVD drive power plug and used it to power the 2nd internal hard drive, and I was able to clone the main drive.
04-03-2010 06:01 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On