What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger » Scripting » [?] WM_MOUSEMOVE doesn't work

Pages: (4): « First « 1 2 [ 3 ] 4 » Last »
[?] WM_MOUSEMOVE doesn't work
Author: Message:
matty
Scripting Guru
*****


Posts: 8336
Reputation: 109
36 / Male / Flag
Joined: Dec 2002
Status: Away
RE: [?] WM_MOUSEMOVE doesn't work
Add this. All will be good :)
XML code:
        <Attributes>
            <LockOnClick>False</LockOnClick>
        </Attributes>

04-20-2010 09:26 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
SmokingCookie
Senior Member
****

Avatar

Posts: 815
Reputation: 15
27 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2007
O.P. RE: [?] WM_MOUSEMOVE doesn't work
But.. That disables moving the window, right? And besides, I get tons of notification messages with the LockOnClick thingy, except when the mouse is over a control.

This post was edited on 04-21-2010 at 02:58 PM by SmokingCookie.
04-21-2010 02:58 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
matty
Scripting Guru
*****


Posts: 8336
Reputation: 109
36 / Male / Flag
Joined: Dec 2002
Status: Away
RE: [?] WM_MOUSEMOVE doesn't work
quote:
Originally posted by SmokingCookie
But.. That disables moving the window, right? And besides, I get tons of notification messages with the LockOnClick thingy, except when the mouse is over a control.
It will disable moving the window yes. Sorry I wasn't clear in my post. I didn't spend the time trying to figure out what control the cursor was on. I can take a look later if you cannot figure it out.
04-21-2010 04:35 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
matty
Scripting Guru
*****


Posts: 8336
Reputation: 109
36 / Male / Flag
Joined: Dec 2002
Status: Away
RE: [?] WM_MOUSEMOVE doesn't work
The other possibility is to create regions for different buttons and monitor the position of the cursor when it is on the window. That is quite intense though.
04-21-2010 05:40 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
SmokingCookie
Senior Member
****

Avatar

Posts: 815
Reputation: 15
27 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2007
O.P. RE: [?] WM_MOUSEMOVE doesn't work
Regions? Never really heard of that, I think...

The attachment includes an example of what I want to do with this. It's written in MS Visual C# Express 2010.

.zip File Attachment: MouseMove example.zip (13.94 KB)
This file has been downloaded 138 time(s).

This post was edited on 04-21-2010 at 07:49 PM by SmokingCookie.
04-21-2010 07:38 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
matty
Scripting Guru
*****


Posts: 8336
Reputation: 109
36 / Male / Flag
Joined: Dec 2002
Status: Away
RE: [?] WM_MOUSEMOVE doesn't work
Good news... bad news...

Good news is I managed to get it to work with the Plus! Window. Unfortunately I can't see how it will work with controls.

Javascript code:
var WM_MOUSEMOVE = 0x200;
var WM_MOUSEHOVER = 0x02A1;
var TME_HOVER = 1;
var wndSubclass;
 
function OnEvent_Initialize() {
    if (Messenger.MyStatus < STATUS_INVISIBLE) return false;
    Debug.DebuggingWindowVisible = true;
    wndSubclass = MsgPlus.CreateWnd('wndSubclass.xml', 'wndSubclass');
    wndSubclass.RegisterMessageNotification(WM_MOUSEMOVE);
    wndSubclass.RegisterMessageNotification(WM_MOUSEHOVER);
}
 
function OnEvent_SigninReady() {
    OnEvent_Initialize();
}
 
function OnwndSubclassEvent_MessageNotification(pPlusWnd, nMessage, wParam, lParam) {
    switch (nMessage) {
        case WM_MOUSEMOVE:
            Debug.ClearDebuggingWindow();
            Debug.Trace('WM_MOUSEMOVE');
            var TRACKMOUSEEVENT = Interop.Allocate(16);
            with(TRACKMOUSEEVENT) {
                WriteDWORD(0, Size);
                WriteDWORD(4, TME_HOVER);
                WriteDWORD(8, pPlusWnd.Handle);
                WriteDWORD(12, 1);
            }
            Interop.Call('user32','TrackMouseEvent',TRACKMOUSEEVENT.DataPtr);
            return -1; // Process the message little one
        case WM_MOUSEHOVER:
            Debug.ClearDebuggingWindow();
            Debug.Trace('WM_MOUSEHOVER');
            return -1;
    }
}


[Image: attachment.php?pid=992973]

.jpg File Attachment: WM_HOVER.jpg (19.1 KB)
This file has been downloaded 616 time(s).

This post was edited on 04-22-2010 at 12:28 AM by matty.
04-22-2010 12:27 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
CookieRevised
Elite Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 15519
Reputation: 173
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2003
Status: Away
RE: [?] WM_MOUSEMOVE doesn't work
I'll try to explain a few things. Because some misconceptions have cropped up and stuff Matty posted didn't work because of certain things and the 'fixes' for them weren't the proper fixes, and they introduced other misconceptions...


(1)

A window has a client area and a non-client area.
The non-client area of a standard window in Windows is the title/caption bar (plus the borders).
Clicking and holding the button in the caption area of the non-client area of a window and you can move the window for example.

Plus!, by default, flags the whole window as the non-client area, making it possible to click anywhere to move the window (can be disabled by setting LockOnClick to false).

WM_MOUSEMOVE (and other notifications like this), only work in the client area. For the non-client area you need to use other notifications! eg: WM_NCMOUSEMOVE, WM_NCLBUTTONDOWN, etc...

In short, instead of setting LockOnClick to false, use WM_NCMOUSEMOVE.

So, refering back to this post from Matty: it wouldn't work because:
a) WM_NCMOUSEMOVE should have been used when LockOnClick is true (default).
b) the syntax of the ChildWindowFromPoint is wrong. The POINT structure must be passed literally, not as an object reference. See attached script for correct syntax.
c) ChildWindowFromPoint expects coordinates in client coordinates. Matty forgot to convert the screen coordinates from the cursor into client coordinates.
d) see (2)

this post of Matty (setting LockOnClick to false) would only solve point a.

If the four points above would have been correct, that little script would have worked correctly, except for the fact that:

(2)

Since a button control is a window on its own, you wont get any notifications when you move (or hoover) over the button control though.

You need to subclass that button control instead to get a MOUSEMOUVE notification when you move over that control. But this not possible in Plus! without an external DLL.

---------

(3)

Note that detecting WM_NOTIFY, WM_PRINTCLIENT and WM_CTLCOLORBTN messages, send to the parent window, can also be used to detect the mouse entering and leaving a button on the Plus! window. Unfortunalty you can't distinct entering or leaving with these APIs alone.

WM_PRINTCLIENT gives the hDC of the button
WM_NOTIFY gives the control/window id
WM_CTLCOLORBTN gives the hDC and hWnd of the button (use this one as the hWnd is the most easiest to check on)


However, this isn't detecting hovering though. But it might be a solution depending on what you exactly want.

---------

(4)

If all else fails, you could use a timer and check the mouse coordinates if they are in the button's view port coordinates and if the parent window is in the foreground. If so, you are over the button. Another timer can then be used to detect the 'hovering'.

---------

(5)

Of course, using (4) requires constant polling and we all know how we hate that ;p

But you can combine the advantages of (3)(check on WM_CTLCOLORBTN) and (4)(check coordinates) together so you don't have the disadvantage of pure (4)(constant polling with timers) and the problem of (2)(no MOUSEMOVE event when you are on a child control):

When you detect WM_CTLCOLORBTN, check the mouse coordinates against the button's view port and you know if the mouse is over the button or not.

Beware though, with this method, the final event (the debug messages in the example script) is also fired when the window is put in focus and out of focus (eg: <alt><tab>). This shouldn't be a problem in general, but for certain stuff (dunno exactly what you're going to do) it might be troublesome.

See attachment for a crude script using this method. Only the cancel button will generate the "I ENTERED"/"I LEFT" debug messages, not the Start button, neither the minimize or close button.

PS: In this script I have also included the WM_NCMOUSEMOVE notification, and the MOUSETRACK events to show how they work. You don't need those for this method to work though....

Hopefully this long jabber isn't too confusing or too messy. And hopefully you'll eventually find a solution for what you want to do... :p

.plsc File Attachment: WM_MOUSEMOVE_COOKIE.plsc (2.58 KB)
This file has been downloaded 133 time(s).

This post was edited on 04-22-2010 at 08:20 PM by CookieRevised.
.-= A 'frrrrrrrituurrr' for Wacky =-.
04-22-2010 04:14 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
matty
Scripting Guru
*****


Posts: 8336
Reputation: 109
36 / Male / Flag
Joined: Dec 2002
Status: Away
RE: [?] WM_MOUSEMOVE doesn't work
Looks good Cook! Thanks for the explanation. I couldn't seem to come up with a message that was sent to the parent that we could act on.
04-22-2010 01:02 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
SmokingCookie
Senior Member
****

Avatar

Posts: 815
Reputation: 15
27 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2007
O.P. RE: [?] WM_MOUSEMOVE doesn't work
Not supposed to be online now; at school.

Anyways, cannot download Cookie's attachment, so I'll take a look at it later today, or tomorrow. Meanwhile, what exactly does it do?
04-23-2010 11:40 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
matty
Scripting Guru
*****


Posts: 8336
Reputation: 109
36 / Male / Flag
Joined: Dec 2002
Status: Away
RE: [?] WM_MOUSEMOVE doesn't work
Captures mouse enter/leaving of a button.
04-23-2010 11:42 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Pages: (4): « First « 1 2 [ 3 ] 4 » Last »
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On