What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger » Scripting » Logitech LED Disable

Pages: (2): « First « 1 [ 2 ] Last »
Logitech LED Disable
Author: Message:
Spunky
Former Super Mod
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3658
Reputation: 61
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Aug 2006
RE: Logitech LED Disable
quote:
Originally posted by SourSpud
Hey, Can you restart the process please?

I would need to know which process to restart... seeing as I don't have the software on my PC, I don't know which one is responsible for controlling the webcam. Is there any information you can give me?
<Eljay> "Problems encountered: shit blew up" :zippy:
11-27-2009 11:28 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
SourSpud
Junior Member
**

Avatar
spud, spud, spud, spoon.

Posts: 58
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Nov 2009
O.P. RE: Logitech LED Disable
I'm not to sure but i think this is what we need

http://www.auditmypc.com/process/lvcomsx.asp
11-27-2009 11:46 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
tobby
New Member
*

Avatar
I Support RSPCA

Posts: 2
Joined: Jul 2009
Logitech Help
Recently I have been visting websites which allow webcam chat but i am mostly on this at night the LED hurts my eyes and I am thrilled to have found a script to disable this

code:
var shell = new ActiveXObject('WScript.Shell');

function OnEvent_ChatWndSendMessage(ChatWnd, Message){
    if(Message.search("/ledoff") != -1){
        shell.RegWrite('HKLM\\SYSTEM\\CurrentControlSet\\Control\\Class\\{6BDD1FC6-810F-11D0-BEC7-08002BE2092F}\\0000\\Settings\\LVUVC_LEDControl', 0x00000000, "REG_DWORD");
        MsgPlus.DisplayToast("Logitech Webcam", "LEDs Turned off");
        return "";
    }else if(Message.search("/ledon") != -1){
        shell.RegWrite('HKLM\\SYSTEM\\CurrentControlSet\\Control\\Class\\{6BDD1FC6-810F-11D0-BEC7-08002BE2092F}\\0000\\Settings\\LVUVC_LEDControl', 0x00000008, "REG_DWORD");
        MsgPlus.DisplayToast("Logitech Webcam", "LEDs Turned on");
        return "";
    }
    return Message;
}

function OnGetScriptMenu() {
        var menu = "<ScriptMenu>";
        menu += "<MenuEntry Id=\"on\">Turn on webcam LEDs</MenuEntry>";
        menu += "<MenuEntry Id=\"off\">Turn off webcam LEDs</MenuEntry>";
        menu += "</ScriptMenu>";
        return menu;
}

function OnEvent_MenuClicked(MenuItemId, Location, OriginWnd){
    if(MenuItemId == "on") OnEvent_ChatWndSendMessage(null, "/ledon");
    if(MenuItemId == "off") OnEvent_ChatWndSendMessage(null, "/ledoff");   
}

function OnGetScriptCommands(){
    var ScriptCommands = "<ScriptCommands>";
    ScriptCommands    +=     "<Command>";
    ScriptCommands    +=         "<Name>ledon</Name>";
    ScriptCommands    +=         "<Description>Turn on webcam LEDs</Description>";
    ScriptCommands    +=     "</Command>";
        ScriptCommands    +=     "<Command>";
    ScriptCommands    +=         "<Name>ledoff</Name>";
    ScriptCommands    +=         "<Description>Turn off webcam LEDs</Description>";
    ScriptCommands    +=     "</Command>";
    ScriptCommands    += "</ScriptCommands>";

    return ScriptCommands;
}

is there a way i can test if there is a logitech webcam installed? maybe /test and if there is a reg key i will get a message back saying true or false
07-16-2010 07:57 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
CookieRevised
Elite Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 15519
Reputation: 173
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2003
Status: Away
RE: Logitech Help
That snippet was written by Spunky as an example and comes from this thread.

But, in the futur, if you have additional questions regarding this script then please post in the original thread instead of creating a new one.

--------

Some very important note on those registry keys:
HKLM\\SYSTEM\\CurrentControlSet\\Control\\Class\\{6BDD1FC6-810F-11D0-BEC7-08002BE2092F}\\0000\\Settings\\LVUVC_LEDControl

The drivers aren't located in every system in the same configuration set or in the same order. So the 0000 might work for your personal computer and system, but not for others. Also there are probably more drivers installed, and they might not even be from Logitech. This means that there might be more than one configuration set  (eg: 0000, 0001, 0002, 0003, etc).

--

To answer your question:

Not all Logitech webcams have those leds and even less webcams support toggling the led on/off. So simply testing if there is a Logitech webcam wouldn't always work, in fact it would rarely work..

The best solution is to test on the existance of those very same registry keys already used in that script. That is: a subset of it like the MatchingDeviceId, ProviderName and DriverVersion values. And this for all the LED-toggle supporting webcams from Logitech.

Also see here and here.

If they exista dn have the correct values, the user probably has a Logitech webcam which supports toggling those leds on/off.

If they don't exist the user either hasn't a Logitech webcam, or his/her webcam doesn't support it and your script shouldn't be trying to set those keys...

Actually you should always check for the existance of keys before you change them anyways. Otherwise if somebody (without such a webcam in this case) runs this script his/her registry will be polluted with useless registry keys!!

--

And last: by simply setting those registry keys you can not enable/disable the led on the fly. You also need to reinitiate the camera each time (eg: by plugging it out and back in).

--

Remember that this script is not a complete script, but simply a quick but in most cases working example.
It does need some fine tuning, like the stuff said in this post, to make it work and to be 'safe' to use for the general public.

This post was edited on 07-17-2010 at 01:25 PM by CookieRevised.
.-= A 'frrrrrrrituurrr' for Wacky =-.
07-17-2010 12:40 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Pages: (2): « First « 1 [ 2 ] Last »
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On