What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger » WLM Plus! Bug Reports » [SOFTWARE-5.00.702] /checkupdates command

[SOFTWARE-5.00.702] /checkupdates command
Author: Message:
mynetx
Skinning Contest Winner
*****

Avatar
Microsoft insider

Posts: 1175
Reputation: 33
32 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2007
O.P. [SOFTWARE-5.00.702] /checkupdates command
On Messenger Plus! 5.00.702, the /checkupdates command does not trigger the auto-update to Plus! 5.01.706. Instead, this dialog box appears:
quote:
---------------------------
Messenger Plus! 5
---------------------------
No update is currently available for Messenger Plus! or its components.
---------------------------
OK   
---------------------------

Windows 7 Ultimate x64 (6.1.7600)
Windows Live Messenger 15.4.1109
Messenger Plus! 5.00.0.702
mynetx - Microsoft, enhanced.

You have a problem or issue with Windows, Internet
Explorer or Office?
Send a tweet!
03-14-2011 06:35 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
felipEx
Scripting Contest Winner
***


Posts: 378
Reputation: 24
30 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jun 2006
RE: [SOFTWARE-5.00.702] /checkupdates command
I can confirm this bug :tongue:

I also tried in VM (Windows XP Service Pack 3 (5.1.2600), Windows Live Messenger 14.0.0416) and upgraded Plus! from 4.90.0.392  to 5.00.0.691 and nicely detected latest version (5.01.0.706) though It doesn't detect 5.01.0.706 from 5.00.0.702



Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Service Pack 1 (6.1.7601)
Windows Live Messenger 15.4.1109
Messenger Plus! 5.00.0.702
03-15-2011 03:42 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
mynetx
Skinning Contest Winner
*****

Avatar
Microsoft insider

Posts: 1175
Reputation: 33
32 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2007
O.P. RE: [SOFTWARE-5.00.702] /checkupdates command
quote:
Originally posted by felipEx
It doesn't detect 5.01.0.706 from 5.00.0.702
Exactly, this was what I meant. Arenít the final bugfixes reason enough?
mynetx - Microsoft, enhanced.

You have a problem or issue with Windows, Internet
Explorer or Office?
Send a tweet!
03-15-2011 08:05 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
Sunshine
Elite Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 5142
Reputation: 122
– / Female / Flag
Joined: Mar 2004
Status: Away
RE: [SOFTWARE-5.00.702] /checkupdates command
I'll notify the devs, thanks :)
[Image: 25dr3o9]
03-15-2011 11:13 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
Apatik
Full Member
***

Avatar
\o/

Posts: 431
Reputation: 12
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Nov 2003
Status: Away
RE: [SOFTWARE-5.00.702] /checkupdates command
As far as I can tell the 5706 simply hasn't been pushed to the auto-update system (yet). Not sure how you could get your 5691 to detect 5706?

Edit: okay never mind, the update system actually advertises 5702 but the setup file is 5706, hahahaha '-_-

Also note that the /checkupdates command isn't exactly the same as a scheduled auto-update, Plus! 5 hasn't been published (at all) through auto-update yet. Just FYI :)

This post was edited on 03-15-2011 at 01:15 PM by Apatik.
[Image: rdmazu.php]
03-15-2011 01:06 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Menthix
forum admin
*******

Avatar

Posts: 5534
Reputation: 102
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Mar 2002
RE: [SOFTWARE-5.00.702] /checkupdates command
quote:
Originally posted by Apatik
Not sure how you could get your 5691 to detect 5706?
http://download.msgpluslive.net/update/autoupdate.php
http://download.msgpluslive.net/update/manualupdate.php

Both auto-update and manual update (/checkupdates) claim 5.00.0.702 is the latest version, but the file which gets downloaded is actually 5.01.0.706. This explains why you would get 5706 when you do /checkupdates on any version older than 5702.

BTW, shouldn't the first number on http://download.msgpluslive.net/update/autoupdate.php be 5702 (or 5706, but at least the same as manualupdate.php)?

EDIT: I'm slow :p

This post was edited on 03-15-2011 at 01:21 PM by Menthix.
Finish the problem
Menthix.net | Contact Me
03-15-2011 01:20 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
Apatik
Full Member
***

Avatar
\o/

Posts: 431
Reputation: 12
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Nov 2003
Status: Away
RE: [SOFTWARE-5.00.702] /checkupdates command
quote:
Originally posted by Menthix
BTW, shouldn't the first number on http://download.msgpluslive.net/update/autoupdate.php be 5702 (or 5706, but at least the same as manualupdate.php)?

It will, when we decide to go for mass-auto-update ;)

manualupdate.php should say 5706 though, and also should return a properly named link to a 706 build :-/
[Image: rdmazu.php]
03-15-2011 01:29 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
CookieRevised
Elite Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 15521
Reputation: 173
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2003
Status: Away
RE: [SOFTWARE-5.00.702] /checkupdates command
Do I hear screw-ups again?
(Sorry for the harsh language, but, yeah, ....)


The file autoupdate.php has been updated today apparently.

However, there are some strange inconsistancies in it:
quote:
<f>
<b>5702</b>
<v>5.01.0.706</v>
<u>http://mirror10.msgpluslive.net/20101012/PrevUpdate/MsgPlusLive-490.exe</u>
<n>
  <i>20100801</i>
  <t>Update Available!</t>
  <m2a>New Messenger Plus!</m2a>
  <m2b>A new version of Messenger Plus! is available. Click to download.</m2b>
  <p>http://www.msgpluslive.net/download/?updprompt=1</p>
  <d>30000</d>
</n>
<c>
</c>
</f>
1) 5702? Shouldn't that be 5706?

2) http://mirror10.msgpluslive.net/20101012/PrevUpda...sgPlusLive-490.exe ? Errr... 4.90??? :|
And it isn't even the latest 4.90 version for that matter (eg: signed by Patchou).

3) 20100801? Shouldn't that be 20110308?

4) http://www.msgpluslive.net/download/?updprompt=1
results in a 404 Page not found error, aka:
http://www.msgplus.net/Home?aspxerrorpath=/download/

Looks more like a downgrade to me than an upgrade.... :/


Note: manualupdate.php is indeed not yet up-to-date either (referring to 5.0.702 file version and link)

This post was edited on 03-16-2011 at 09:32 PM by CookieRevised.
.-= A 'frrrrrrrituurrr' for Wacky =-.
03-16-2011 09:13 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
CookieRevised
Elite Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 15521
Reputation: 173
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2003
Status: Away
RE: [SOFTWARE-5.00.702] /checkupdates command
Update: autoupdate.php was briefly restored to previous state yesterday (in essence autoupdate was disabled again), but it is now back to the erroneous version shown above.
.-= A 'frrrrrrrituurrr' for Wacky =-.
03-17-2011 11:09 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
CookieRevised
Elite Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 15521
Reputation: 173
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2003
Status: Away
RE: [SOFTWARE-5.00.702] /checkupdates command
bump...

autoupdate.php and manualupdate.php is still beeped up and people start to complain why they don't get the update notifications....

The returned data of autoupdate.php switches randomly between:
    <b>5702</b>
    <v>5.01.0.706</v> 
and
    <b>4392</b>
    <v>5.00.0.702</v>

Not to mention that if the mp parameter points to a lower version than 4.90, more screwups are present in the returned data.

Also the 'upgrade now' link on the page
http://pages.msgpluslive.net/msgplus_download_4_page/?ref=MsgPlusAlert
(= link you get in that returned data from autoupdate.php) points to a wrong URL.

Also the returned data from manualupdate.php is still wrong!

---

So, Yuna, how hard can it be to fix those issues for crying out loud?

This post was edited on 03-21-2011 at 04:18 PM by CookieRevised.
.-= A 'frrrrrrrituurrr' for Wacky =-.
03-21-2011 04:17 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On