What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger » Skinning » Skin Problems

Skin Problems
Author: Message:
dober
New Member
*


Posts: 2
Joined: Jul 2011
O.P. RE: [Release] Stealth 2 - Join the dark side!
Hello,

i have some problems with this and all other skins.
first of all my options window looks like this:

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/12/optionssz.jpg/

the other problem, which looks like connected to the first one is, that the borders of all windows dont change if i activate any skin.

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/69/bordersu.jpg/


can anybody help me?


ps:

im using the latest version of the WLM 11 ( build 15.4.3508.1109) and
windows 7 64 bit

This post was edited on 07-10-2011 at 03:53 AM by dober.
07-10-2011 03:45 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Spunky
Former Super Mod
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3658
Reputation: 61
36 / Male / Flag
Joined: Aug 2006
RE: Skin Problems
The 2nd screenshot is normal behaviour. Skins can not control the "Aero" borders present in Vista or Windows 7. With older versions of WLM (< 2011), it was possible to remove the Aero border and replace it with a different border (the same as was used on Windows XP). As WLM 2011 is not available on XP, there is unfortunately no way to remove it



EDIT:

The other problem seems to be that the windows isn't loading a few of the image files correctly. I'm currently looking into this.

Confirmed, images are not loading correctly for Stealth2 (and potentially other skins) on either the options window or the about window.

Windows 7 (64-bit)
Windows Live Messenger 2011 (Build 15.4.3508.1109)
Messenger Plus: 5.02.0.712 (Released 17/05/2011)



EDIT2:

Managed to fix by moving the contents of the "Plus!" folder ("C:\Program Files (x86)\Yuna Software\Messenger Plus!\WLM-Skins\Stealth\Plus!") in the skin's directory to "C:\Program Files (x86)\Yuna Software\Messenger Plus!\Interface".

I don't know if this is a just a problem with Plus! not reading the files properly from the old location or a problem with the skin (although you said it happens for all skins).

From what I understand (I'm by no means a skinner), the Interface3.xml and Interface4.xml files (One of which also appears to be named incorrectly; it contains a space) will always be read from the new folder, not just when the skin is enabled so you would have to manually remove it again afterwards. Whilst this isn't a perfect fix, it may let you better understand the options you want to choose.

This post was edited on 07-10-2011 at 09:31 AM by Spunky.
<Eljay> "Problems encountered: shit blew up" :zippy:
07-10-2011 08:58 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Nagamasa
Skinning Contest Winner
*****

Avatar

Posts: 1842
Reputation: 30
30 / Male / Flag
Joined: May 2006
RE: Skin Problems
If I recall correctly, this only started after the last Messenger update.

I think we need to update the Plus! version. I know Metro is set to version 5.01, which is now old :P Hence if you want, go to the skin's folder and find SkinInfo.xml, and change

XML code:
<PlusSkin>
        <ResGroup>
            <PlusVersion Major="5" Minor="1"/>


to

XML code:
<PlusSkin>
        <ResGroup>
            <PlusVersion Major="5" Minor="2"/>


This post was edited on 07-10-2011 at 10:52 AM by Nagamasa.
[Image: unled1uo.png]
Joined this forum 6638 days, 12 hours, 29 minutes, 30 seconds ago.



07-10-2011 10:51 AM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
dober
New Member
*


Posts: 2
Joined: Jul 2011
O.P. RE: Skin Problems
Thank you.
I edited the skininfo.xml and the option window looks normal now.

Its a pity that you cant remove or change the borders on vista or win 7.
It makes any skin look a bit uncompleted.
07-10-2011 12:33 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
LuckyMe
Skinning Contest Winner
***

Avatar

Posts: 147
Reputation: 7
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Feb 2008
Status: Away
RE: Skin Problems
quote:
Originally posted by Nagamasa
If I recall correctly, this only started after the last Messenger update.

I think we need to update the Plus! version. I know Metro is set to version 5.01, which is now old :P Hence if you want, go to the skin's folder and find SkinInfo.xml, and change...


Completely right...

quote:
Originally posted by dober
Thank you.
I edited the skininfo.xml and the option window looks normal now.

Its a pity that you cant remove or change the borders on vista or win 7.
It makes any skin look a bit uncompleted.

Yeah I think it also was a bit disssapointing for us skinners as we used to skin that part, for now the only thing you can do is using a visual style that matches the skin, hopefully Messenger Plus! will fix that in a future realease ;)


This post was edited on 07-10-2011 at 04:34 PM by LuckyMe.
07-10-2011 04:33 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Hallie
New Member
*

Avatar

Posts: 2
– / Female / –
Joined: Jul 2011
RE: Skin Problems
Hey, I have a little problem. Whenever i want to import any skin i get a pop up that says : the destination directory for the skin couldnt be created.  I never used to get this problem. Help? :(
07-22-2011 06:05 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
LuckyMe
Skinning Contest Winner
***

Avatar

Posts: 147
Reputation: 7
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Feb 2008
Status: Away
RE: RE: Skin Problems
quote:
Originally posted by Hallie
Hey, I have a little problem. Whenever i want to import any skin i get a pop up that says : the destination directory for the skin couldnt be created.  I never used to get this problem. Help? :(

Hey, take a look into this ;)
07-23-2011 01:48 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On