What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » General » Forum & Website » Changing description / add a screenshot places plugin in approval queue

Changing description / add a screenshot places plugin in approval queue
Author: Message:
V@no
Full Member
***

Avatar
sexy

Posts: 162
Joined: Mar 2004
O.P. Changing description / add a screenshot places plugin in approval queue
Hello.
I just updated description of my plugin and added a screenshot, after save the plugin's status changed to "Waiting for approval".

Kind of overkill on security, don't you think?

This post was edited on 10-22-2011 at 06:37 PM by V@no.
10-22-2011 05:42 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
CookieRevised
Elite Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 15521
Reputation: 173
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2003
Status: Away
RE: Changing description / add a screenshot places plugin in approval queue
Not at all.

Each and every script should be checked out. In the past there have been more than once problems with malicious stuff and thanks to this extra check such things were discovered before they went online into the official database. It is what makes the official scripts database reliable for proper content.

This goes, of course, for the code itself, but also for the descriptions etc (mostly because you can use HTML; and which could be abused to spam) and even for screenshots (we do not want pr0n images there, just to give an example).

So, although it may seem a bit overkill at first sight, there is a reason for it.

This post was edited on 10-22-2011 at 06:12 PM by CookieRevised.
.-= A 'frrrrrrrituurrr' for Wacky =-.
10-22-2011 05:59 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
V@no
Full Member
***

Avatar
sexy

Posts: 162
Joined: Mar 2004
O.P. RE: Changing description / add a screenshot places plugin in approval queue
Are you saying the plugin's description can compromise database? In that case there is something wrong with your filters...(yes, yes, someone could post a porn link in the description...)
Perhaps the whole approval process should be changed then, instead of the removing the whole plugin from the listing, it should stay listed with "old, approved" data and only after approval the new data should be added to the listing? This includes uploading new versions.

This post was edited on 10-22-2011 at 06:12 PM by V@no.
10-22-2011 06:11 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
CookieRevised
Elite Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 15521
Reputation: 173
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2003
Status: Away
RE: Changing description / add a screenshot places plugin in approval queue
quote:
Originally posted by V@no
Are you saying the plugin's description can compromise database? In that case there is something wrong with your filters...(yes, yes, someone could post a porn link in the description...)
"Compromise" is a big word. The database will not explode or whatever, but yes, people can post unwanted stuff there and thus even a description should be approved.

There is nothing wrong with the filters; moreover, a filter which can detect every kind of abuse does not exist, nowhere. A human is still and will always be the best filter there is. That is also why you have moderators on forums (and why on some forums approval of posts is enabled); it's the very exact same reason.

quote:
Originally posted by V@no
Perhaps the whole approval process should be changed then, instead of the removing the whole plugin from the listing, it should stay listed with "old, approved" data and only after approval the new data should be added to the listing? This includes uploading new versions.
I dunno how it is now, but the way you described it is how it used to be.

This post was edited on 10-22-2011 at 06:19 PM by CookieRevised.
.-= A 'frrrrrrrituurrr' for Wacky =-.
10-22-2011 06:16 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
V@no
Full Member
***

Avatar
sexy

Posts: 162
Joined: Mar 2004
O.P. RE: RE: Changing description / add a screenshot places plugin in approval queue
Sorry didn't mean to sound offensive, and I see now your updated reply.

quote:
Originally posted by CookieRevised
I dunno how it is now, but the way you described it is how it used to be.
Apparently it was changed...

Also, it seems each plugin's version get it's own description, screenshots section, etc. And since normal users have no access to the previous versions, this information is just wastes server's space.
10-22-2011 06:29 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On