What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger » Scripting » Plug-Ins » problem with loading objects in plugin

Pages: (3): « First [ 1 ] 2 3 » Last »
problem with loading objects in plugin
Author: Message:
Xerxis
Full Member
***


Posts: 234
Reputation: 1
40 / Male / –
Joined: Jul 2003
Status: Away
O.P. problem with loading objects in plugin
i'm having a bit of a problem

the thing is loading an object in parsecommand will cause the command not to be parsed while the object is loaded

for example

Public Function ParseCommand(ByVal sCommand As String, ByVal sCommandArg As String, ByVal oConversationWnd As Object, ByRef sResult As String) As Boolean
    If (StrComp(LCase(sCommand), "/xwmp", vbTextCompare) = 0) Then
        sResult = ""
        ParseCommand = True
        load(form1)
        Exit Function


...

and so on

will cause this, anyone who knows how to work around this?
07-08-2003 11:40 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
Xerxis
Full Member
***


Posts: 234
Reputation: 1
40 / Male / –
Joined: Jul 2003
Status: Away
O.P. RE: problem with loading objects in plugin
I already tried

Set frm = New Form1
    frm.Show
    Set frm = Nothing

but that gives the same problem
so i'm getting a bit desperatie, because it's not only with forms

i'm starting to fear that the only thing i can do is to start a second thread, but that means making another dll with the forms or doing a lot of code in vb6. so i'm probably just overlooking a very simple solution (at least that's what i hope ;))

This post was edited on 07-08-2003 at 11:59 AM by Xerxis.
07-08-2003 11:56 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
Xerxis
Full Member
***


Posts: 234
Reputation: 1
40 / Male / –
Joined: Jul 2003
Status: Away
O.P. RE: problem with loading objects in plugin
oh c'mon, somebody has to know a solution. i already put a lot of work in my plugin and it works as a standalone exe (well kind of) i don't want to give up now because i can't open my classes :s
07-08-2003 01:44 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
Bamboe
Junior Member
**

Avatar

Posts: 30
Joined: Feb 2003
RE: problem with loading objects in plugin
i want to know how you do this in c so can somebody tell us???
07-08-2003 01:47 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Xerxis
Full Member
***


Posts: 234
Reputation: 1
40 / Male / –
Joined: Jul 2003
Status: Away
O.P. RE: problem with loading objects in plugin
the problem with vb is that the loading of an object will stop the rest of the code to stop until the object is released again, i don't know how to bypass this, i just tried it by using a second dll but that doesn't help. then i made a second thread which worked (it only had one little problem, it made msn crash :d) so now i'm out of ideas, the only thing left over that i know off is making an exe and calling that with command line arguments out of your dll, which seems pretty lame to me :s
07-08-2003 02:06 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
surfichris
Former Admin
*****

Avatar

Posts: 2365
Reputation: 81
Joined: Mar 2002
RE: problem with loading objects in plugin
Form1.Show?

Form1.Visible = True?

Have you tried those?
07-08-2003 02:15 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Bamboe
Junior Member
**

Avatar

Posts: 30
Joined: Feb 2003
RE: problem with loading objects in plugin
Form1->Show(); didn't work and my form is standard visible
07-08-2003 02:29 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
zigomar10
Full Member
***

Avatar

Posts: 345
– / Male / –
Joined: Mar 2003
RE: problem with loading objects in plugin
this also happens to me when i make a message box :wall:
07-08-2003 02:56 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Bamboe
Junior Member
**

Avatar

Posts: 30
Joined: Feb 2003
RE: problem with loading objects in plugin
No a messagexox works when you make him like this: MessageBox(NULL, "Hello World", "Hello", MB_OK);
07-08-2003 02:59 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
zigomar10
Full Member
***

Avatar

Posts: 345
– / Male / –
Joined: Mar 2003
RE: problem with loading objects in plugin
how would you make an equivalent to this:
code:
If MsgBox("Blabla", vbYesNo, "blabla") = vbYes Then
Else
End If

07-08-2003 03:12 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Pages: (3): « First [ 1 ] 2 3 » Last »
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On