What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger » Scripting » Plug-Ins » manipulating sText in ReceiveNotify?

Pages: (2): « First [ 1 ] 2 » Last »
manipulating sText in ReceiveNotify?
Author: Message:
rh
Full Member
***


Posts: 115
– / Male / –
Joined: Mar 2003
O.P. manipulating sText in ReceiveNotify?
hi!

we want to write a plugin that will transmit a certain information to another user, but "sNotifyCode" is too small (5 bytes) for transmitting the info we need.

therefore we have used "sText" for these data, but then the receiving user will see the contents of "sText", which looks ugly. is there a way to manipulate "sText" in the "ReceiveNotify" event, so that the ugly data can be removed?

thank you!

regards,

rh
09-23-2003 05:04 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
wipey
Full Member
***

Avatar
.oOo.

Posts: 310
37 / – / –
Joined: Jul 2003
RE: manipulating sText in ReceiveNotify?
you could probs add a colour code to it, making it white, but then they'd see a blank message8-) unless u tagged it at the end of anuther message (the extra text)....am I makin it too complicated?

[Image: msgplus468banner2.gif]

www.wipey.tk 6971 days, 20 hours, 26 minutes, 50 seconds ago until my 18th birthday(b)

09-23-2003 07:09 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
Whacko
Full Member
***

Avatar

Posts: 209
Reputation: 1
40 / Male / –
Joined: Apr 2002
RE: manipulating sText in ReceiveNotify?
put another notify code inside the resulting notification, this will call ReceiveNotify again, i think :P also on the receiving user side tho:P
I code in:
C
C++
Delphi
Visual Basic
Pascal :P
09-23-2003 07:43 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
rh
Full Member
***


Posts: 115
– / Male / –
Joined: Mar 2003
O.P. RE: manipulating sText in ReceiveNotify?
thanks for your idea whacko; it was promising but i tried and it did not work.

i think that notify codes are just being evaluated once, not recursively.

any other ideas? thanks!

rh
09-23-2003 08:06 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Choli
Elite Member
*****

Avatar
Choli

Posts: 4714
Reputation: 42
42 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2003
RE: manipulating sText in ReceiveNotify?
Currently there's no beeter solution. First of all, you have to send the data in sText and make sNotifyCode constant, and second, when the other user recieves the message, he/she will see the ugly data. The best thing you can do is, as wipey said, put that ugly data in white, with white background.
Whacko, I think you aren't right.
Other thing you can do is this: I the user who recieves the info is allowed to know he/she has recieved it (even if he/she isn't allowed, he/she will see that you have sent him/her a message), put a text like "Info recieved" before the white ugly data that I said before.
Messenger Plus! en espaņol:
<< http://www.msgpluslive.es/ >>
<< http://foro.msgpluslive.es/ >>
:plus4:
09-23-2003 09:26 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
wipey
Full Member
***

Avatar
.oOo.

Posts: 310
37 / – / –
Joined: Jul 2003
RE: manipulating sText in ReceiveNotify?
jus what I said:D:P

[Image: msgplus468banner2.gif]

www.wipey.tk 6971 days, 20 hours, 26 minutes, 50 seconds ago until my 18th birthday(b)

09-24-2003 07:26 AM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
rh
Full Member
***


Posts: 115
– / Male / –
Joined: Mar 2003
O.P. RE: manipulating sText in ReceiveNotify?
too bad... :(

i hope patchou will extend the plugin-possibilities appropriately in the next plus! release...

regards,

rh
09-24-2003 11:33 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Predatory Kangaroo
Full Member
***


Posts: 144
– / Male / –
Joined: Jul 2003
RE: manipulating sText in ReceiveNotify?
I had this problem a while ago, when i was experimenting with making a game as a plugin...
I had it send the IP for winsock in 3 parts - first off the client computer sent "pkr01", the server replied with "pk127", the client sent "pkr02", server "pk000", etc. etc. until i had the four parts of the IP address (127.0.0.1 in this case), then I established a winsock connection.
theoretically, you should be able to do this, then send all the data you want thru winsock, or u can just do that same back and forth thing for ages if you don't want to let ppl find IP addresses with netstat.
Either way, it can be a bit tedious to figure out, but once you've done it, you can reuse the code in many ways
[Image: imagetest.php?display=You%20dont%20know%...djust=true]
09-24-2003 01:44 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
rh
Full Member
***


Posts: 115
– / Male / –
Joined: Mar 2003
O.P. RE: manipulating sText in ReceiveNotify?
hi!

thanks for the idea.

will there be displayed a lot of textless postings in msn chat? or will this procedure make the excahnge completely invisble?

thanks a lot!

rh
09-24-2003 02:01 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
wipey
Full Member
***

Avatar
.oOo.

Posts: 310
37 / – / –
Joined: Jul 2003
RE: manipulating sText in ReceiveNotify?
I'm gonna try it out sometime:)

btw, using the white text wud mean the info would still show up, as with custom backgrounds the convo bg is very unlikely to be white8-)

[Image: msgplus468banner2.gif]

www.wipey.tk 6971 days, 20 hours, 26 minutes, 50 seconds ago until my 18th birthday(b)

09-25-2003 03:59 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
Pages: (2): « First [ 1 ] 2 » Last »
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On