What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Skype & Technology » Tech Talk » trick the computer

Pages: (3): « First [ 1 ] 2 3 » Last »
trick the computer
Author: Message:
*Saint*
Senior Member
****

Avatar

Posts: 570
Reputation: 25
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2004
O.P. trick the computer
is there a way to trick the computer into thinking it has more RAM then it actually has?
01-06-2005 09:48 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Pr0xY
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar
relentless grace

Posts: 1326
Reputation: 26
– / Male / –
Joined: Jul 2003
Status: Away
RE: trick the computer
No, and there would be no logical reason of doing so even if there was a way. 

Why would you want to?

This post was edited on 01-06-2005 at 10:27 PM by Pr0xY.
01-06-2005 10:26 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
*Saint*
Senior Member
****

Avatar

Posts: 570
Reputation: 25
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2004
O.P. RE: trick the computer
i want to install somehtign but i need a little bit more thats why

This post was edited on 01-06-2005 at 10:28 PM by *Saint*.
01-06-2005 10:27 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
saralk
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 2600
Reputation: 38
30 / Male / Flag
Joined: Feb 2003
RE: trick the computer
the program wont run if you need more RAM then you actually have. And also, OSes can have a hard time trying to keep track of the hardware that it already has, let alone hardware that doesnt exist.
The Artist Formerly Known As saralk
London New York Paris
Est. 1989
01-06-2005 10:30 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Jhrono
Veteran Member
*****


Posts: 1791
Reputation: 25
28 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jun 2004
RE: trick the computer
RAM's are kinda not 2 expensive...i bought an ddr 400 512mb and it costed 89 ...ok but its 512...if u only need 128 it's about 40 i think
01-06-2005 10:31 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
*Saint*
Senior Member
****

Avatar

Posts: 570
Reputation: 25
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2004
O.P. RE: trick the computer
can you tell me in candadian dollors?
i have 96mb i know that isnt good
01-06-2005 10:33 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
megamuff
Full Member
***


Posts: 128
Reputation: -12
31 / – / –
Joined: Apr 2003
RE: trick the computer
you are all wrong.

there used to be a free program called ram doubler. it made your computer think it had at least twice as much ram as it really had, and this fake ram it created in fact worked just as fast as your real ram. however ram doubler is no longer free. i dont know where you can buy it either, but you can search google for it..
01-06-2005 10:34 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Pr0xY
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar
relentless grace

Posts: 1326
Reputation: 26
– / Male / –
Joined: Jul 2003
Status: Away
RE: trick the computer
quote:
Originally posted by Saint
i want to install somehtign but i need a little bit more
lol, I figured that was the reason.  You dont want to do that, there is a reason games have a minimum RAM requirement.  The game wont run properly on the PC if you did that.  It _might_ even cause harm to your computer. 
01-06-2005 10:36 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
*Saint*
Senior Member
****

Avatar

Posts: 570
Reputation: 25
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2004
O.P. RE: trick the computer
thats the positive answer i wanted :)
01-06-2005 10:36 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Jhrono
Veteran Member
*****


Posts: 1791
Reputation: 25
28 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jun 2004
RE: trick the computer
megamuff what if u burn ur motherboard(is that possible?) :fire: ..that think may not do that good
quote:
Originally posted by Saint
can you tell me in candadian dollors?
how manny us dollars is a canadian dollar?

quote:
Originally posted by pr0xy

It _might_ even cause harm to your computer.


i'd buuy a new ram...

This post was edited on 01-06-2005 at 10:38 PM by Jhrono.
01-06-2005 10:36 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Pages: (3): « First [ 1 ] 2 3 » Last »
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On