What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger » Scripting » Plug-Ins » Change Nickname...

Pages: (2): « First [ 1 ] 2 » Last »
Change Nickname...
Author: Message:
Tobiaz
Full Member
***

Avatar

Posts: 103
Reputation: 5
67 / Male / –
Joined: Aug 2005
Status: Away
O.P. Change Nickname...
Hi
I'd like to change my 2.Nickname every Minute (Second were better...)
I'd like to do a Countdown in my Name...
Is that possible to change the name so often & fast?

I know how to make a DateDiff, but how can I change my 2. Nickname without let it type in automatical (like /vbchangename or so...)

I hope someone can help me...

Thank you very much!

======================
I'm programming with VB6
======================
10-22-2005 06:03 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
DragonX
Full Member
***

Avatar

Posts: 226
Reputation: 10
40 / Male / –
Joined: Aug 2005
RE: Change Nickname...
Go check out this thread.
[Image: dsd-mi_616175.png]
10-22-2005 06:07 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
(CyBeRDuDe)
Senior Member
****


Posts: 512
Reputation: 21
37 / Male / –
Joined: Jul 2003
RE: Change Nickname...
Counter in Nickname By CyBeRDuDe :D... If you want to use it.... If not and you want to create your own.. please write again, and we will try to help you... :)...
What do you mean by 2. Nickname?... The Personal Message?... A counter for this haven't been created yet,  but it will probably be soon... :P...
If you mean the normal ordinary nickname, then the maximum change is 10 times per minute, that means you can change it 10 times during 10 seconds but then you have to wait 50 seconds before you can change again, or you can keep a constant change each 6th seconds, or even at 10 seconds which is most recomended if you want so low numbers... 1 minute or above is recommended in generally since lower numbers and frequent use of nickchaning is infact annoying to your other contacts, but this is another side of the story... :P...
10-22-2005 07:09 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Tobiaz
Full Member
***

Avatar

Posts: 103
Reputation: 5
67 / Male / –
Joined: Aug 2005
Status: Away
O.P. RE: Change Nickname...
Hm... yes, I would like to hove it in my personal message...
The Nickname-counter doesn't help me...

I need a VB6 Code, for changing my Nickname automaticly...
And I cannot open the Nicknamecounter DLL!

Does anybody knows a easy Source?

thank you
10-22-2005 08:54 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
matty
Scripting Guru
*****


Posts: 8336
Reputation: 109
39 / Male / Flag
Joined: Dec 2002
Status: Away
RE: Change Nickname...
Matty's reply to How to start off a plugin and how to make it simply change your name
10-22-2005 08:58 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Tobiaz
Full Member
***

Avatar

Posts: 103
Reputation: 5
67 / Male / –
Joined: Aug 2005
Status: Away
O.P. RE: Change Nickname...
Thank you! I will have a look at it tomorrow.

Edit: Thank you! Now I can change my nickname...

My Problem now is to change it every Minute?
I know to use a Timer... but how can I do this without a Timer?


Thank you again

This post was edited on 10-23-2005 at 08:39 AM by Tobiaz.
10-22-2005 09:08 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
matty
Scripting Guru
*****


Posts: 8336
Reputation: 109
39 / Male / Flag
Joined: Dec 2002
Status: Away
RE: Change Nickname...
quote:
Originally posted by Tobiaz
Thank you! I will have a look at it tomorrow.

Edit: Thank you! Now I can change my nickname...

My Problem now is to change it every Minute?
I know to use a Timer... but how can I do this without a Timer?


Thank you again
You can't do it without a timer. What I suggest is take a look at this thread Matty's reply to Showing Form without vbModal in VB? For the programmers out there... :D.

Now you will want to have a Form with a Timer on it that is used to set the name every minute. (Timer's interval would be 60000).

Next on the Initialize of the Plugin you would call the ShowWindow Form1.hWnd, SW_SHOWNOACTIVATE (this will show the window but not give it the focus).

Next on Form_Load() you want to have the window repositioned and made smaller so it cant be seen.

(For this in design time you need to change the borderstyle = 0)
And in the Form_Load() code put

me.height=0: me.top=0
me.width=0: me.left=0

And obviously your code to change name will be in the timer.

This post was edited on 10-23-2005 at 01:40 PM by matty.
10-23-2005 01:40 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
(CyBeRDuDe)
Senior Member
****


Posts: 512
Reputation: 21
37 / Male / –
Joined: Jul 2003
RE: Change Nickname...
Matty:
You don't need to use the ShowWindow Api... :P.. To "advanced"...

tobiaz:
All you need to do is put a timer on the form, set the interval or whatever...
In the plugin Initialize funtion, you just
code:
Load Form1

Or whatever you form name is...
If you timer is set to Enable during editing, it will be enabled as soon as you call Load Form1, if you set it to false you just call
code:
Form1.Timer1.Enabled = True

In the initialize function..
Or wherever you want it....
This means.. You don't need to show the form.. You just have to load it... :)...
Simple as that... :P...

The Showwindow Api can be used when you want to show a form without it Freezing the rest of Messenger... :)...

This post was edited on 10-23-2005 at 03:09 PM by (CyBeRDuDe).
10-23-2005 03:04 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Tobiaz
Full Member
***

Avatar

Posts: 103
Reputation: 5
67 / Male / –
Joined: Aug 2005
Status: Away
O.P. RE: Change Nickname...
Oh... thank you very much for helping!
I will try it jet...

Greeeeeez Tobiaz

Everytime I write something in the "inizalize function" my Messenger doesn't start right! He stops before he's loading the Contact List.
It doesn't load it, and nothing moves...

I only writed:
code:
Load Form1
Form1.Timer1.Enalbed = True

The Timer shoud change my nickname "1" every 30s plus 1...

Why it doesn't run?

thanks

Edit: After a reboot, my nickname was changed plus 1...
He was "0", now it's "1"... but Messenger doesn't start when something is in the inizialize funtion...???
10-23-2005 03:30 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
matty
Scripting Guru
*****


Posts: 8336
Reputation: 109
39 / Male / Flag
Joined: Dec 2002
Status: Away
RE: Change Nickname...
Don't use

code:
Load Form1
Form1.Timer1.Enabled = True

Use
code:
ShowWindow Form1.hWnd, SW_SHOWNOACTIVATE

And set the Timer to be enabled in design time. (When you can put objects on the Form)

.zip File Attachment: MPPluginVB.zip (17.17 KB)
This file has been downloaded 156 time(s).

This post was edited on 10-23-2005 at 04:47 PM by matty.
10-23-2005 04:40 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Pages: (2): « First [ 1 ] 2 » Last »
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On