What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Skype & Technology » Tech Talk » HDD noise

Pages: (2): « First « 1 [ 2 ] Last »
HDD noise
Author: Message:
Reaper
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 1393
Reputation: 23
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jun 2004
RE: HDD noise
Have you ran scan disk?
05-04-2006 11:05 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
[MR]
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar
Scruffy Ruffy

Posts: 1060
Reputation: 25
29 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jun 2005
O.P. RE: HDD noise
quote:
Originally posted by Reaper
Have you ran scan disk?
oh ya i forgot, ill do that now.
[Image: siggy20ss.jpg]
05-04-2006 11:07 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
joemailey
Full Member
***

Avatar

Posts: 291
Reputation: 9
33 / Male / –
Joined: Jan 2006
RE: RE: HDD noise
HDD noise.
its having read errors.

the clicking noise you here is it trying to read the sector of data. it could even be corrupt windows install are something has corrupted a certian sector of the hard drive.

It could even be YOUR IDE cable. Faulty cable , try replacing the cable with a spare one you have.

But i would start to back up my work to another drive. I'd keep using the same hard drive i just wouldnt leave

Saved work
downloaded files
Important in stall files.
Personnal stuff

on the drive. i don't do that ne way should always have your work including your my documents folder mapped to 2nd drive any way.


This post was edited on 05-05-2006 at 09:16 AM by joemailey.
05-05-2006 09:13 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
[MR]
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar
Scruffy Ruffy

Posts: 1060
Reputation: 25
29 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jun 2005
O.P. RE: HDD noise
I'm pretty sure it is failing, when I try to play WoW now, my computer just freezes and I restart, it wont see there is a HDD, i reboot again it sees a HDD, and i finally get back in windows,,,Im backing my stuff up now on my ipod, and Im just going to use a different HDD in the mean time of getting a new one.
[Image: siggy20ss.jpg]
05-06-2006 06:21 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
Mike
Elite Member
*****

Avatar
Meet the Spam Family!

Posts: 2794
Reputation: 48
27 / Male / Flag
Joined: Mar 2003
Status: Online
RE: HDD noise
Also, you can try using SpinRite (not free)

I have heard good things about it, and you should try it :)

This post was edited on 05-09-2006 at 05:31 AM by WDZ.
YouTube closed-captions ripper (also allows you to download videos!)
05-06-2006 07:37 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
[MR]
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar
Scruffy Ruffy

Posts: 1060
Reputation: 25
29 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jun 2005
O.P. RE: HDD noise
Ever since i put in the new HDD my computer's preformance has dropped.  It seems to be slower, and it has a lot more unresponsive program errors, and alot of those send error report things.  E.G.  I open VLC and instantly an Error appears saying VLC has encountered an error and needs to close.  It has gotten a lot slower too, E.G. I have WoW open and I have WLM and OD open (on old HDD) It all work smooth and good, With new HDD, i can hardly have windows Messenger open with WoW sometimes.  Im going to scan but The only thing i can thing of is how fast the Disk can rotate or whatever it is called.  But the HDD im using now isnt that old, well maybe it is about since 2001 I have had it in another computer and then put it in this one since my less than a year old one is having problems.  And i tried to run scan disk on the other HDD and it froze about half way through :-/

Any help?

EDIT:  Now that i think of it, would the slowness be caused by the screen resolution?  b/c i had it at 1152 by 864 last time and now i have both moniters on 1280 by 1024.  Im pretty sure that is the most likely reason but any suggestions>

This post was edited on 05-08-2006 at 09:11 PM by [MR].
[Image: siggy20ss.jpg]
05-08-2006 09:09 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
Mike
Elite Member
*****

Avatar
Meet the Spam Family!

Posts: 2794
Reputation: 48
27 / Male / Flag
Joined: Mar 2003
Status: Online
RE: HDD noise
Try changing the resolution back to 1152x864?
But tbh, I don't think that changing the resolution would slow your pc... :-/
Only WoW, because it would have to render a bigger area, making it slower, but still... :-/

By the way, if you still have your old noisy harddrive, then try SpinRite as I said before...

quote:
Originally posted by Mike
Also, you can try using SpinRite (not free)

I have heard good things about it, and you should try it :)

This post was edited on 05-09-2006 at 05:32 AM by WDZ.
YouTube closed-captions ripper (also allows you to download videos!)
05-09-2006 05:22 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
Pages: (2): « First « 1 [ 2 ] Last »
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On