What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Skype & Technology » Tech Talk » Wireless Internet Connection

Pages: (2): « First [ 1 ] 2 » Last »
Wireless Internet Connection
Author: Message:
Chris4
Elite Member

32 / Male / Flag
O.P. Wireless Internet Connection
My dad bought a laptop for my 11-year-old sister. It's not very good, but it's only so she can use Messenger and do homework.
So my dad bought a Router and a Network Card.
I want the laptop to have a wireless connection to my computer, which has an NTL Broadband Cable USB modem connection, which is working fine.

I've never done this before so I don't really know what I'm doing wrong.

I installed the CD (on the laptop) and followed the instructions, typed in 192.168.20.75 into IE, then follow the wizard, but it says "Auto-detect failed. Please contact your DSL service provider for the correct settings and complete the following screens".

I tried clicking on 'Set up a wireless network for a home or small office' and it gave me some settings to use, but I don't know exactly where to put them. I've put the SSID as 'Wireless' on both the computer and laptop...

quote:
Network Name (SSID): Wireless
Network Key (WEP/WPA Key): [removed]
Key Provided Automatically (802.1x): 0
Network Authentication Type: open
Data Encryption Type: WEP
Connection Type: ESS
Key Index:

I tried 'Set up a home or small office network' on both the laptop and the computer (Computer being the direct connection, laptop connection through another computer) and selecting the wireless connection on the laptop. I get 'Cannot Complete the Network Setup Wizard' on the computer. On the laptop, it says I need to run it on the computer, which I've done :S. Both connecting to 'MSHOME' network, but the laptop doesn't appear in MSHOME on my computer and no sign of 'MSHOME' on the laptop.