What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Skype & Technology » Tech Talk » Confused

Pages: (2): « First [ 1 ] 2 » Last »
Confused
Author: Message:
trishhau

O.P. Confused
First of all I would like to say Hi to everyone.  I am new here.  In fact I am new to computers.  I have downloaded a product code for a piece of software that came with my computer.  When I open the the download it is just a bunch of letters and numbers and jumble and tells me to burn or mount and the code is in the jumble.  Does anyone know what this means, or do I just delete it and forget about the software.

Thanks
^o)
06-11-2007 08:09 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Volv
Skinning Contest Winner

34 / Male / Flag
RE: Confused
Hello,
Firstly in the folder (Windows XP) go to Tools > Folder Options, click on the 'View' tab and untick the box which says "Hide extensions for known file types".
Then tell us what extension the file has which you're trying to open (an extension is the combination of letters following the period or full stop in the filename eg. "Hello.exe" would have the extension of "exe").
If the extension is "nfo" then you need to open it up in Notepad or WordPad (open Notepad and drag the file into it).

It says your need to "burn or mount", this would probably suggest that there is some sort of CD/DVD 'image' included, are there any other files or is there just a single file?
06-11-2007 08:41 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
trishhau

O.P. RE: Confused
Thanks for responding, yes it is a NFO and I opened it using Notepad but its a jumble of characters, that sort of look like pictures, I tried burning it to CD but nothing happened.
06-11-2007 09:04 AM
Volv
Skinning Contest Winner

34 / Male / Flag
Yes, NFO files from torrents usually have some form of ascii art included.

You are not supposed to burn the NFO to cd though, like I asked before: are there any other files included or is it just the NFO one?
06-11-2007 09:08 AM