What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Skype & Technology » Tech Talk » need new router

Pages: (3): « First [ 1 ] 2 3 » Last »
need new router
Author: Message:
Supersonicdarky
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 2317
Reputation: 48
– / – / Flag
Joined: Feb 2005
Status: Away
O.P. need new router
my current router fucked up today, it reset all settings and you cant change them at all now so i am stuck with an unsecured router to which anyone can connect to. i need a router that supports b/g, has open source firmware (preferable but not required), long range (over 17dBm), forwards ports correctly and is fairly cheap

:)

This post was edited on 08-19-2007 at 06:24 PM by Supersonicdarky.
08-19-2007 06:23 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
ShawnZ
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3146
Reputation: 43
30 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2003
RE: need new router
get a Buffalo WHR-G125 and put DD-WRT on it

This post was edited on 08-19-2007 at 06:31 PM by ShawnZ.
Spoiler:
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
08-19-2007 06:27 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
Ezra
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar
Forgiveness is between them and God

Posts: 1960
Reputation: 31
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Mar 2003
RE: need new router
Linksys WRT54GL

Has Linux on it which you can easily change to DD-WRT.
[Image: 1-0.png]
             
08-19-2007 06:29 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
Supersonicdarky
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 2317
Reputation: 48
– / – / Flag
Joined: Feb 2005
Status: Away
O.P. RE: need new router
quote:
Originally posted by Ezra
Linksys WRT54GL

Has Linux on it which you can easily change to DD-WRT.
this?

WRT54G-CA != WRT54GL

This post was edited on 08-19-2007 at 06:46 PM by Supersonicdarky.
08-19-2007 06:45 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
ShawnZ
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3146
Reputation: 43
30 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2003
RE: need new router
quote:
Originally posted by Supersonicdarky
quote:
Originally posted by Ezra
Linksys WRT54GL

Has Linux on it which you can easily change to DD-WRT.
this?

no, thats a G, not a GL. besides, just get a buffalo whr-g125 :p
Spoiler:
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
08-19-2007 06:46 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
Supersonicdarky
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 2317
Reputation: 48
– / – / Flag
Joined: Feb 2005
Status: Away
O.P. RE: need new router
i dont see it at futureshop and i'm too lazy to look elsewhere

*sigh*
08-19-2007 06:49 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
ShawnZ
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3146
Reputation: 43
30 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2003
RE: need new router
get one of these at least:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices
Spoiler:
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
08-19-2007 08:02 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
roflmao456
Skinning Contest Winner
****

Avatar

Posts: 955
Reputation: 24
27 / Male / Flag
Joined: Nov 2006
Status: Away
RE: need new router
dlink!
[quote]
Ultimatess6
: What a noob mod
08-19-2007 08:04 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
Supersonicdarky
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 2317
Reputation: 48
– / – / Flag
Joined: Feb 2005
Status: Away
O.P. RE: need new router
quote:
Originally posted by roflmao456
dlink!
is the one i currently have and i will never buy one again because they phail at port forwarding
08-19-2007 09:30 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
roflmao456
Skinning Contest Winner
****

Avatar

Posts: 955
Reputation: 24
27 / Male / Flag
Joined: Nov 2006
Status: Away
RE: need new router
quote:
Originally posted by Supersonicdarky
quote:
Originally posted by roflmao456
dlink!
is the one i currently have and i will never buy one again because they phail at port forwarding
my router works ... and port forwarding is OK. :P.

what about netgear =\

This post was edited on 08-20-2007 at 01:43 AM by roflmao456.
[quote]
Ultimatess6
: What a noob mod
08-20-2007 01:43 AM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
Pages: (3): « First [ 1 ] 2 3 » Last »
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On