What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Skype & Technology » Tech Talk » html/tpl

Pages: (2): « First [ 1 ] 2 » Last »
html/tpl
Author: Message:
Quantum
Disabled Account
*****

Away.

Posts: 1055
Reputation: -17
30 / Male / Flag
Joined: Feb 2007
O.P. html/tpl
Well if you look at this code:

<input size="40" id="video_link" name="video_link" type="text" value='/videos.php?id={$video[video].id}'>

You see the /videos.php?id={$video[video].id}

is it possible to put a code infront of it so it adds the website url to it?

I can't seem to understand.

Thanks.
No longer here.
05-21-2008 04:45 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Menthix
forum admin
*******

Avatar

Posts: 5537
Reputation: 102
39 / Male / Flag
Joined: Mar 2002
RE: html/tpl
Sure, but not recommended, makes your site less flexible.

But you can put your site URL in a variable, pass it to the template.
code:
$smarty->assign ("url", http://www.example.com");

And call it.
code:
<input size="40" id="video_link" name="video_link" type="text" value='{url}/videos.php?id={$video[video].id}'>
Finish the problem
Menthix.net | Contact Me
05-21-2008 06:14 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
Quantum
Disabled Account
*****

Away.

Posts: 1055
Reputation: -17
30 / Male / Flag
Joined: Feb 2007
O.P. RE: html/tpl
quote:
Originally posted by MenthiX
Sure, but not recommended, makes your site less flexible.

But you can put your site URL in a variable, pass it to the template.

    code:$smarty->assign ("url", http://www.example.com");

I mean  so what ever URL the site viewed it is that's what will be added. Is that your code?

This post was edited on 05-21-2008 at 06:18 PM by Quantum.
No longer here.
05-21-2008 06:17 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Menthix
forum admin
*******

Avatar

Posts: 5537
Reputation: 102
39 / Male / Flag
Joined: Mar 2002
RE: html/tpl
In that case just don't change anything.

Just using /videos.php?id={$video[video].id} will already point users to "example.com/videos.php?id={$video[video].id}" or "somethingelse.example.com/videos.php?id={$video[video].id}" depending on which url your users use to access you site. In most cases there is no reason to prefix the domain in the code.

Maybe i'm not understanding your question?
Finish the problem
Menthix.net | Contact Me
05-21-2008 06:32 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
Quantum
Disabled Account
*****

Away.

Posts: 1055
Reputation: -17
30 / Male / Flag
Joined: Feb 2007
O.P. RE: html/tpl
I know that will still work but that code output's a URL to a webpage so it can be /videos.php... it will have to be http://example.com/videos.php?...

Understand? :S

Thanks!
No longer here.
05-21-2008 06:49 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Thor
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar
Awwwwwwww.

Posts: 1118
Reputation: 42
31 / – / Flag
Joined: May 2006
RE: html/tpl
quote:
Originally posted by john-t
I know that will still work but that code output's a URL to a webpage so it can be /videos.php... it will have to be http://example.com/videos.php?...

Understand? :S

Thanks!
That's exactly what it would be, unless you wish to redirect the user to a diffrent place. In such an event, MenthiX just told you.
:plus4: Translation guidelines for Messenger Plus! Live
I'm no longer around this town, but I miss the community dearly. You can always find me lurking in #banana, or at
nitrolinken.net.
05-21-2008 08:11 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
Quantum
Disabled Account
*****

Away.

Posts: 1055
Reputation: -17
30 / Male / Flag
Joined: Feb 2007
O.P. RE: html/tpl
but i need it to work no matter were its at so i don't have to edit the code and chnage the url..
No longer here.
05-21-2008 08:30 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Menthix
forum admin
*******

Avatar

Posts: 5537
Reputation: 102
39 / Male / Flag
Joined: Mar 2002
RE: html/tpl
Judging by what you pasted it will/should work no matter where it's at without changing any code. If it doesn't, link us to the page where the problem is so we can see what you mean.
Finish the problem
Menthix.net | Contact Me
05-21-2008 10:15 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
Quantum
Disabled Account
*****

Away.

Posts: 1055
Reputation: -17
30 / Male / Flag
Joined: Feb 2007
O.P. RE: html/tpl
$smarty->assign ("url", http://www.example.com");

Will that code no output http://www.example.com instead of my URL?
No longer here.
05-21-2008 10:20 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Lou
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 2475
Reputation: 43
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Aug 2004
RE: html/tpl
quote:
Originally posted by john-t
$smarty->assign ("url", http://www.example.com");

Will that code no output http://www.example.com instead of my URL?
Change it to your url?
[Image: msghelp.net.png]
The future holds bright things in it\\\'s path, but only time will tell what they are and where they come from.
Messenger Stuff Forums
05-21-2008 11:17 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
Pages: (2): « First [ 1 ] 2 » Last »
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On