What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Skype & Technology » Tech Talk » Split Ethernet Cable without Router

Pages: (5): « First « 1 2 3 [ 4 ] 5 » Last »
Split Ethernet Cable without Router
Author: Message:
Eddie
Veteran Member
*****


Posts: 2078
Reputation: 30
27 / Male / Flag
Joined: Oct 2005
Status: Away
O.P. RE: Split Ethernet Cable without Router
At an average of $40 on Ebay for every single one ive seen, i think i have changed my mind *-)
...there used to be a signature here :)
08-15-2008 11:30 AM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
andrewdodd13
Senior Member
****

Avatar
Oh so retro

Posts: 870
Reputation: 16
30 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2005
RE: RE: Split Ethernet Cable without Router
quote:
Originally posted by Eddie
quote:
Originally posted by andrewdodd13
No, this appears to be a phone line splitter.

I don't know about in Australia, but in the UK they are very different cables.

In fact so much so, that we had the common sense to use a different plug for our phone lines. :)
It says Phone and Modem connections, surely that means that it will work correctly? and ADSL2 etc are internet types over here.
No, this means that it will split a phone line. You plug the phone line into a modem, do you not?
[Image: AndrewsStyle.png]
08-15-2008 03:17 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
rav0
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar
i have an avatar

Posts: 1419
Reputation: 29
30 / Male / Flag
Joined: Aug 2003
RE: RE: RE: Split Ethernet Cable without Router
quote:
Originally posted by andrewdodd13
quote:
Originally posted by Eddie
quote:
Originally posted by andrewdodd13
No, this appears to be a phone line splitter.

I don't know about in Australia, but in the UK they are very different cables.

In fact so much so, that we had the common sense to use a different plug for our phone lines. :)
It says Phone and Modem connections, surely that means that it will work correctly? and ADSL2 etc are internet types over here.
No, this means that it will split a phone line. You plug the phone line into a modem, do you not?
Correct. That Jackson ADSL In-Line Filter/Splitter is just that. It splits your phone line for use with and also incorporates an ADSL filter.
| [Image: dorsh] |

(\ /)
(O.o)
(> <)

This is Bunny. Copy Bunny into your signature to help him on his way to world domination
08-20-2008 05:50 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
Jesus
Scripting Contest Winner
****

Avatar
Koffie, my cat ;)

Posts: 623
Reputation: 15
33 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2005
RE: Split Ethernet Cable without Router
quote:
Originally posted by Eddie
At an average of $40 on Ebay for every single one ive seen, i think i have changed my mind *-)
$40 for a switch on ebay? better buy a brand new one...
Man is least himself when he is in his own person. Give him a mask and he will tell you the truth. (Oscar Wilde)
08-20-2008 01:23 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Eddie
Veteran Member
*****


Posts: 2078
Reputation: 30
27 / Male / Flag
Joined: Oct 2005
Status: Away
O.P. RE: Split Ethernet Cable without Router
I don't know what to look for :S I don't know what they call them, most of them are 8 ports, i only need two -.-
...there used to be a signature here :)
08-20-2008 02:01 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
ShawnZ
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3146
Reputation: 43
27 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2003
RE: Split Ethernet Cable without Router
quote:
Originally posted by Eddie
I don't know what to look for

a switch

quote:
Originally posted by Eddie
I don't know what they call them

switches

quote:
Originally posted by Eddie
I don't know what to look for :S I don't know what they call them, most of them are 8 ports, i only need two -.-

so only use two
Spoiler:
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
08-20-2008 02:54 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
Jesus
Scripting Contest Winner
****

Avatar
Koffie, my cat ;)

Posts: 623
Reputation: 15
33 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2005
RE: Split Ethernet Cable without Router
quote:
Originally posted by Eddie
I don't know what to look for :S I don't know what they call them, most of them are 8 ports, i only need two -.-
I linked to a 5 port switch in my previous post...
Also, you'll need 3 ports, not 2.
1 for the router, 1 for your pc, 1 for your xbox.
So you'll have 2 ports free, which shouldn't be a problem at all.
Man is least himself when he is in his own person. Give him a mask and he will tell you the truth. (Oscar Wilde)
08-21-2008 12:32 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
segosa
Community's Choice
*****


Posts: 1407
Reputation: 92
Joined: Feb 2003
RE: Split Ethernet Cable without Router
have you got a spare router lying about? if so you could just plug into the lan ports of that and it'd function as a switch.
The previous sentence is false. The following sentence is true.
08-21-2008 09:18 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Eddie
Veteran Member
*****


Posts: 2078
Reputation: 30
27 / Male / Flag
Joined: Oct 2005
Status: Away
O.P. RE: Split Ethernet Cable without Router
quote:
Originally posted by segosa
have you got a spare router lying about? if so you could just plug into the lan ports of that and it'd function as a switch.
I have yes, but i cant seem to find a decent tutorial for people who have no idea.
...there used to be a signature here :)
08-21-2008 10:14 AM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
segosa
Community's Choice
*****


Posts: 1407
Reputation: 92
Joined: Feb 2003
RE: RE: Split Ethernet Cable without Router
quote:
Originally posted by Eddie
quote:
Originally posted by segosa
have you got a spare router lying about? if so you could just plug into the lan ports of that and it'd function as a switch.
I have yes, but i cant seem to find a decent tutorial for people who have no idea.

1. plug everything into the four ports on the back labelled "LAN" and nothing into the "WAN" port
2. power up the router
3. ???
4. profit!
The previous sentence is false. The following sentence is true.
08-21-2008 10:26 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Pages: (5): « First « 1 2 3 [ 4 ] 5 » Last »
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On