What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Skype & Technology » Tech Talk » <noscript>

Pages: (2): « First [ 1 ] 2 » Last »
<noscript>
Author: Message:
djdannyp
Elite Member
*****

Avatar
Danny <3 Sarah

Posts: 3546
Reputation: 31
37 / Male / Flag
Joined: Mar 2006
O.P. <noscript>
Okay, I just can't figure this one out.

After all the talk of validation, etc for websites I decided to run my new one, www.footballweeklies.co.uk, through it and I keep getting the same error on all my pages

I have several <noscript> tags, obviously for browsers which don't support javascript.....inside these tags are embedded swf objects

However in the validation check it keeps coming up saying that the tags are invalid....and indeed i tried removing the script file to make it show the embedded object and it doesn't work

below is an example....can anyone help?

code:
<script type="text/javascript">
AC_FL_RunContent( 'codebase','http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=9,0,28,0','width','194','height','210','movie','menu/dropmenu','quality','high' ); //end AC code
</script>
<noscript>
<object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=9,0,28,0" width="194" height="210">
        <param name="movie" value="menu/dropmenu.swf" />
        <param name="quality" value="high" />
</object>
</noscript>


This post was edited on 08-28-2008 at 10:33 PM by djdannyp.
[Image: 1ftt0hpk-signature.png]
AutoStatus Script || Facebook Status Script
5215 days, 14 hours, 7 minutes, 16 seconds ago
08-28-2008 10:32 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Spunky
Former Super Mod
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3658
Reputation: 61
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Aug 2006
RE: <noscript>
Only warning I get is about an empty <h1> container. Otherwise my validator says the content appears to be strict, even though you use the transitional doctype.

Running it through w3c it says you may have placed the <noscript> tag inside a block level element

quote:
Line 24, Column 18: document type does not allow element "noscript" here; missing one of "object", "applet", "map", "iframe", "button", "ins", "del" start-tag

The mentioned element is not allowed to appear in the context in which you've placed it; the other mentioned elements are the only ones that are both allowed there and can contain the element mentioned. This might mean that you need a containing element, or possibly that you've forgotten to close a previous element.

One possible cause for this message is that you have attempted to put a block-level element (such as "<p>" or "<table>") inside an inline element (such as "<a>", "<span>", or "<font>").


This post was edited on 08-28-2008 at 11:33 PM by Spunky.
<Eljay> "Problems encountered: shit blew up" :zippy:
08-28-2008 11:20 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
djdannyp
Elite Member
*****

Avatar
Danny <3 Sarah

Posts: 3546
Reputation: 31
37 / Male / Flag
Joined: Mar 2006
O.P. RE: <noscript>
http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fww..._Validator%2F1.591
[Image: 1ftt0hpk-signature.png]
AutoStatus Script || Facebook Status Script
5215 days, 14 hours, 7 minutes, 16 seconds ago
08-28-2008 11:33 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Spunky
Former Super Mod
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3658
Reputation: 61
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Aug 2006
RE: <noscript>
Already updated my post.
<Eljay> "Problems encountered: shit blew up" :zippy:
08-28-2008 11:34 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
djdannyp
Elite Member
*****

Avatar
Danny <3 Sarah

Posts: 3546
Reputation: 31
37 / Male / Flag
Joined: Mar 2006
O.P. RE: <noscript>
code:
<div id="sidebar1">
    <h3>Contents
      <script type="text/javascript">
AC_FL_RunContent( 'codebase','http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=9,0,28,0','width','194','height','210','movie','menu/dropmenu','quality','high' ); //end AC code
</script><noscript><object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=9,0,28,0" width="194" height="210">
        <param name="movie" value="menu/dropmenu.swf" />
        <param name="quality" value="high" />
      </object></noscript>
    </h3>
  </div>

there's the entire section that the code is in.  i don't know what i can do to fix it
[Image: 1ftt0hpk-signature.png]
AutoStatus Script || Facebook Status Script
5215 days, 14 hours, 7 minutes, 16 seconds ago
08-28-2008 11:38 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Spunky
Former Super Mod
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3658
Reputation: 61
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Aug 2006
RE: <noscript>
Try putting the noscript tags inside the object tags
<Eljay> "Problems encountered: shit blew up" :zippy:
08-28-2008 11:42 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
djdannyp
Elite Member
*****

Avatar
Danny <3 Sarah

Posts: 3546
Reputation: 31
37 / Male / Flag
Joined: Mar 2006
O.P. RE: <noscript>
yeah, i tried that, it doesn't work :(
[Image: 1ftt0hpk-signature.png]
AutoStatus Script || Facebook Status Script
5215 days, 14 hours, 7 minutes, 16 seconds ago
08-28-2008 11:49 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Spunky
Former Super Mod
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3658
Reputation: 61
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Aug 2006
RE: <noscript>
You should have <!-- --> surrounding the Javascript code, just inside the actual script tags. Don't think it'll make a difference, just means older browsers won't get crap text lol

It seems to work outside the <h1> tags (delete the tags). This goes back to my first post about block level elements :p

EDIT: In fact, change the <h1> tags (only the ones surrounding those two objects) to <p> tags, change the DOCTYPE and it'll comply to Strict then :p

This post was edited on 08-29-2008 at 12:03 AM by Spunky.
<Eljay> "Problems encountered: shit blew up" :zippy:
08-29-2008 12:00 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
MeEtc
Patchou's look-alike
*****

Avatar
In the Shadow Gallery once again

Posts: 2200
Reputation: 60
38 / Male / Flag
Joined: Nov 2004
Status: Away
RE: <noscript>
I've had this problem before too. Put the whole <noscript> in a <div> and I think it will be OK. Also, you should avoid using comment blocks inside of the <script> tag, its a no-no in xhtml
[Image: signature/]     [Image: sharing.png]
I cannot hear you. There is a banana in my ear.
08-29-2008 12:05 AM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
djdannyp
Elite Member
*****

Avatar
Danny <3 Sarah

Posts: 3546
Reputation: 31
37 / Male / Flag
Joined: Mar 2006
O.P. RE: <noscript>
okay, i'm fiddling around and seeing where i can get to.  managed to get the index.html to validate as transitional by changing the <h1> tags to <div>s

is it better to be strict than transitional?

can't say i know too much about that side of it, haha
[Image: 1ftt0hpk-signature.png]
AutoStatus Script || Facebook Status Script
5215 days, 14 hours, 7 minutes, 16 seconds ago
08-29-2008 12:32 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Pages: (2): « First [ 1 ] 2 » Last »
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On