What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Skype & Technology » Skype & Live Messenger » New beta question

Pages: (2): « First [ 1 ] 2 » Last »
New beta question
Author: Message:
YourNeibour
Senior Member
****


Posts: 608
Reputation: 1
44 / Male / Flag
Joined: Nov 2005
O.P. New beta question
I was going to install the new WLM 9 Beta that just came out...I downloaded both the full download and the web download...when i went to double click on the installer it gave me a message saying i needed either Windows Vista or Windows XP to install this.  I have Windows XP Pro w/sp2 as my OS.  What is going on?

regards
09-19-2008 11:46 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
matty
Scripting Guru
*****


Posts: 8337
Reputation: 109
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Dec 2002
Status: Away
RE: New beta question
I think the requirements are Windows XP SP3 if I am not mistaken... I hope someone proves me wrong lol
09-19-2008 01:06 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
RebelSean
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar
Microsoft Evangelist

Posts: 2602
Reputation: 59
30 / Male / Flag
Joined: May 2004
Status: Away
RE: New beta question
quote:
Originally posted by matty
I think the requirements are Windows XP SP3 if I am not mistaken... I hope someone proves me wrong lol

I hate to do this, but:

quote:
Originally posted by http://download.live.com/SystemRequirements.aspx
Operating system: Windows XP with Service Pack 2 (32-bit edition only), or Windows Vista (32-bit or 64-bit editions)

:p
I'm on: Twitter, Facebook, and Neowin
09-19-2008 01:09 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
Shiny Rabbit
Full Member
***

Avatar
oohhh shiny

Posts: 296
Reputation: 2
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Jun 2007
RE: New beta question
i havn't had that problem, but i use SP3
[Image: 202-3.png][Image: shinyhachunesig.png]



09-19-2008 01:09 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
YourNeibour
Senior Member
****


Posts: 608
Reputation: 1
44 / Male / Flag
Joined: Nov 2005
O.P. RE: New beta question
so why would it give me that message?
09-20-2008 03:17 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
ShawnZ
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3146
Reputation: 43
28 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2003
RE: New beta question
install sp3 anyway
Spoiler:
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
09-20-2008 03:33 AM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
TheSteve
Full Member
***

Avatar
The Man from Japan

Posts: 179
Reputation: 23
36 / Male / Flag
Joined: Aug 2005
RE: New beta question
Win XP Pro SP2 works here.
09-20-2008 04:41 AM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
ShawnZ
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3146
Reputation: 43
28 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2003
RE: New beta question
good thing you should both install SP3
Spoiler:
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
09-20-2008 08:37 AM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
TheSteve
Full Member
***

Avatar
The Man from Japan

Posts: 179
Reputation: 23
36 / Male / Flag
Joined: Aug 2005
RE: RE: New beta question
quote:
Originally posted by ShawnZ
no, it's just that all these "too good for sp3" newbs are asking to fuck their computer up in one way or another.
Before you jump to conclusions and start insulting people, The reason I have not installed Service Pack 3 is because it hasn't been offered to me via Windows Update yet. 

Perhaps they have some sort of issues with some setup on my system.  I don't know. It's just not been offered, so I'm not going to jump the gun. 
09-20-2008 02:02 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
YourNeibour
Senior Member
****


Posts: 608
Reputation: 1
44 / Male / Flag
Joined: Nov 2005
O.P. RE: New beta question
so is there a solution or better yet a direct link to just the WLM installer?
09-22-2008 05:48 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Pages: (2): « First [ 1 ] 2 » Last »
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On