What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Skype & Technology » Tech Talk » Overclocking my CPU

Pages: (3): « First « 1 [ 2 ] 3 » Last »
Overclocking my CPU
Author: Message:
Mike
Elite Member
*****

Avatar
Meet the Spam Family!

Posts: 2795
Reputation: 48
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: Mar 2003
Status: Online
RE: Overclocking my CPU
quote:
Originally posted by SonicSam
Also, I have never successfully overclocked my machine, I fail too much, I moved it up like 10MHz and it wouldn't post :p
Increase CPU voltage :P
YouTube closed-captions ripper (also allows you to download videos!)
04-20-2009 08:55 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
prashker
Veteran Member
*****


Posts: 5109
Reputation: 104
– / Male / –
Joined: Mar 2005
Status: Away
RE: Overclocking my CPU
quote:
Originally posted by Mike
quote:
Originally posted by SonicSam
Also, I have never successfully overclocked my machine, I fail too much, I moved it up like 10MHz and it wouldn't post :p
Increase CPU voltage :P
How much thought?!
04-20-2009 08:56 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Blah.Kid
Junior Member
**

Avatar

Posts: 38
Reputation: -1
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: Apr 2009
O.P. RE: Overclocking my CPU
Here are the specs to my comp, tell me if i am able to do it. id so how? Also, would i have to buy a better fan? does this cost much and is it really needed. I was looking around the lots of people said buying a better fan is needed.

This post was edited on 04-20-2009 at 09:05 PM by Blah.Kid.
[Image: sig2take3.gif]
04-20-2009 09:01 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Kenji
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar
Previously: Dazmatic, Dazzy, :zippy:

Posts: 1226
Reputation: 39
32 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jun 2006
Status: Away
RE: Overclocking my CPU
quote:
Originally posted by Blah.Kid
Here are the specs to my comp, tell me if i am able to do it. id so how? Also, would i have to buy a better fan? does this cost much and is it really needed. I was looking around the lots of people said buying a better fan is needed.
Good luck.
04-20-2009 09:13 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Blah.Kid
Junior Member
**

Avatar

Posts: 38
Reputation: -1
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: Apr 2009
O.P. RE: RE: Overclocking my CPU
quote:
Originally posted by Kenji
quote:
Originally posted by Blah.Kid
Here are the specs to my comp, tell me if i am able to do it. id so how? Also, would i have to buy a better fan? does this cost much and is it really needed. I was looking around the lots of people said buying a better fan is needed.
Good luck.

That not very helpful, can someone please be more helpful than this guy. But thanks for the luck :)
[Image: sig2take3.gif]
04-20-2009 09:29 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Kenji
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar
Previously: Dazmatic, Dazzy, :zippy:

Posts: 1226
Reputation: 39
32 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jun 2006
Status: Away
RE: Overclocking my CPU
quote:
Originally posted by Blah.Kid
quote:
Originally posted by Kenji
quote:
Originally posted by Blah.Kid
Here are the specs to my comp, tell me if i am able to do it. id so how? Also, would i have to buy a better fan? does this cost much and is it really needed. I was looking around the lots of people said buying a better fan is needed.
Good luck.

That not very helpful, can someone please be more helpful than this guy. But thanks for the luck :)
You can't overclock that pos. Hence the good luck.
04-20-2009 09:45 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
lizard.boy
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 1707
Reputation: 24
33 / Male / Flag
Joined: Mar 2003
RE: Overclocking my CPU
In order to overclock you need an enthusiast motherboard. A general rule of thumb is that a computer made by Hp/Dell/Lenovo/Acer/whatever will not have overclocking functionality.
04-20-2009 09:48 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Blah.Kid
Junior Member
**

Avatar

Posts: 38
Reputation: -1
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: Apr 2009
O.P. RE: Overclocking my CPU
So theres no possibility whatsoever?
[Image: sig2take3.gif]
04-20-2009 10:16 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Kenji
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar
Previously: Dazmatic, Dazzy, :zippy:

Posts: 1226
Reputation: 39
32 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jun 2006
Status: Away
RE: Overclocking my CPU
quote:
Originally posted by Blah.Kid
So theres no possibility whatsoever?
No, unless you find some software and the PID for your motherboard. But doing it this way is very risky, and even if it does work you will only get a few MHz with it.
04-20-2009 11:54 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Blah.Kid
Junior Member
**

Avatar

Posts: 38
Reputation: -1
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: Apr 2009
O.P. RE: Overclocking my CPU
ok, thank you all for the information. I will try to speed up my computer some other way, would buying an extra 1gb of RAM help a lot or not really currently i have 2gb on my XP
[Image: sig2take3.gif]
04-20-2009 11:59 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Pages: (3): « First « 1 [ 2 ] 3 » Last »
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On