What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Skype & Technology » Tech Talk » trading

Pages: (2): « First [ 1 ] 2 » Last »
trading
Author: Message:
YourNeibour
Senior Member
****


Posts: 608
Reputation: 1
46 / Male / Flag
Joined: Nov 2005
O.P. trading
I have an opportunity to trade my 8gig itouch jailbroken for an 8 gig iphone 3G not jailbroken is it worth the trade?
12-09-2009 04:01 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
matty
Scripting Guru
*****


Posts: 8336
Reputation: 109
37 / Male / Flag
Joined: Dec 2002
Status: Away
RE: trading
Do you have a use for the phone?
12-09-2009 04:06 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Nagamasa
Skinning Contest Winner
*****

Avatar

Posts: 1842
Reputation: 30
28 / Male / Flag
Joined: May 2006
RE: trading
It depends on what phone you have right now.

If you have rather recent phone that can take pictures, store music, play some basic games, and connect to your computer, then no it's not worth the trade.

If you have a b&w screen still, then yeah.

Keep in mind about your phone plan. Data plans are more expensive than everything else combined (starting at $30!).
[Image: unled1uo.png]
Joined this forum 5894 days, 7 hours, 46 minutes, 9 seconds ago.



12-09-2009 04:15 AM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
Jarrod
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar
woot simpson

Posts: 1304
Reputation: 20
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Sep 2006
RE: trading
wait "8gig itouch jailbroken for an 8 gig iphone 3G not jailbroken,"
did I miss something?
http://blackra1n.com/

[Image: 5344.png]
[Image: sig.png]

A.k.a. The Glad Falconer














12-09-2009 05:16 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
M73A
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar


Posts: 3213
Reputation: 37
32 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2004
RE: trading
yeah i was going to say the same as Jarrod,

get the iphone and jailbreak/unlock it with blackra1n!

another useful resource is :

http://www.iclarified.com


be aware that iphone camera SUCK and that if your on PAYG then using any online features will be expensive (trust me! lol)

This post was edited on 12-09-2009 at 11:21 AM by M73A.

[Image: lost7ru.gif]
12-09-2009 11:19 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Menthix
forum admin
*******

Avatar

Posts: 5533
Reputation: 102
37 / Male / Flag
Joined: Mar 2002
RE: trading
quote:
Originally posted by YourNeibour
is it worth the trade?
Nah, just get areal phone.
Finish the problem
Menthix.net | Contact Me
12-09-2009 12:09 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
blessedguy
Skinning Contest Winner
*****

Avatar

Posts: 1762
Reputation: 25
29 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2008
RE: trading
quote:
Originally posted by Menthix
quote:
Originally posted by YourNeibour
is it worth the trade?
Nah, just get areal phone.
Even though I like the iPhone and the story goes on, I'd reccomend you to keep your iPod touch and use another cellphone.

Why?
  • Expensive data plans, the iPod touch only uses wifi
  • There aren't always-running telephone services on the iPod touch, it's battery last WAY longer
  • iPhone is WAY bigger and heavier than iPod touch.
  • Apps get interrupted by calls on the iPhone (it's a phone after all...)
  • iPhone/iPhone 3G and 2007/2008 iPod touches (and 2009 8Gb iPod touch) all have basically the same hardware, you'll be paying more only for internet everywere, GPS, crappy camera (2MP without autofocus or movie recording, the better one is only for the 3GS) and telephone functions you get on any phone.
  • You will never ever have to worry about paying monthly bills for using your iPod touch

Also, if you ever go to the iPhone side, get an iPhone 3GS: it's faster, got better camera, voice control (I at least love using it =P) and all that stuff Apple loves to advertise about it.
[Image: Empty.png]
12-09-2009 12:52 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
Chris4
Elite Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 4461
Reputation: 84
30 / Male / Flag
Joined: Dec 2004
RE: trading
I'd get the iPhone 3G for sure.

quote:
Originally posted by M73A
if your on PAYG then using any online features will be expensive (trust me! lol)
quote:
Originally posted by blessedguy
Expensive data plans, the iPod touch only uses wifi

Depends what network you're with. I'm on O2 PAYG and when I top-up with 15 I get unlimited texts and web for free. Other networks have similar offers, such as unlimited web for 5 a month. So it's not so bad.

quote:
Originally posted by blessedguy
Also, if you ever go to the iPhone side, get an iPhone 3GS
Not really necessary. 3G is still good. So it may be a bit slower, camera not as good and doesn't have voice control, but the firmware update gives it many features the 3GS has, so I hear.

P.S. It's officially the coolest thing you can have ;)
Twitter: @ChrisLozeau
12-09-2009 01:52 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Menthix
forum admin
*******

Avatar

Posts: 5533
Reputation: 102
37 / Male / Flag
Joined: Mar 2002
RE: trading
quote:
Originally posted by Chris4
P.S. It's officially the coolest thing you can have
I don't want to buy a brand, I want to buy a phone.

This post was edited on 12-09-2009 at 01:55 PM by Menthix.
Finish the problem
Menthix.net | Contact Me
12-09-2009 01:55 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
lizard.boy
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 1707
Reputation: 24
32 / Male / Flag
Joined: Mar 2003
RE: trading
I switched to an iPhone 3g without a data plan and I actually lost features. With my Ericcsson I could use voice control, and I could sync my phone with my laptop and see CID info on my screen, or use a full keyboard to send SMS.

Really, it's up to what you want. I like it, but don't love it. I also have an iPod that I no longer carry because it became redundant. Then again I don't listen to music that much.

And be prepared to charge your iPhone every day if you don't already.
12-09-2009 02:10 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Pages: (2): « First [ 1 ] 2 » Last »
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On