What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Skype & Technology » Tech Talk » Is it possible to "trick" an ad hoc network into being a structural?

Pages: (2): « First « 1 [ 2 ] Last »
Is it possible to "trick" an ad hoc network into being a structural?
Author: Message:
mattisdada
Full Member
***

Avatar
RRElive.com

Posts: 359
Reputation: 4
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2007
O.P. RE: Is it possible to "trick" an ad hoc network into being a structural?
Nah where Iím going is a University College, they have all the stuff there, it would be useless for me to bring it there.... They already have full wireless N and gigabit networking.....

Im not strictly disallowed, but it would be a waste of money.....

Someone else suggested using Linux and iptables..... Anyone had an experience with that?

EDIT:From the description Connectify sounds like it could do it. But it is having issues with my wireless adapter....

This post was edited on 12-23-2009 at 05:14 AM by mattisdada.
[Image: Siggy.png]


http://www.rrelive.com/RRElivev2

If you would like my theme for your phpBB3, please contact me.

Thy shouldnt be judged by thy rep givin to you, but by thy rep that you give.
12-23-2009 05:10 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
lizard.boy
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 1707
Reputation: 24
32 / Male / Flag
Joined: Mar 2003
RE: Is it possible to "trick" an ad hoc network into being a structural?
Which device were you planning on running Linux on? If you're thinking the one connected to the lan, you would have to wipe out Windows (or dual boot and only use wireless half the time), and even then you'd be lucky if the distribution will support the wireless dongle properly without some massive tweaking. Getting a wireless router really is the easiest way to do this, and probably the most effective.
12-23-2009 05:25 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
mattisdada
Full Member
***

Avatar
RRElive.com

Posts: 359
Reputation: 4
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2007
O.P. RE: Is it possible to "trick" an ad hoc network into being a structural?
I know itís the easiest, but i canít really, and the challenge is more satisfying, even if at the end nothing comes to fruition....

I was just going to virtualise my Linux and connect my USB dongle straight into the machine (bypassing Windows). Using Virtrualbox of course....
[Image: Siggy.png]


http://www.rrelive.com/RRElivev2

If you would like my theme for your phpBB3, please contact me.

Thy shouldnt be judged by thy rep givin to you, but by thy rep that you give.
12-23-2009 05:29 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
toddy
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar
kcus uoy

Posts: 2573
Reputation: 49
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Jun 2004
RE: Is it possible to "trick" an ad hoc network into being a structural?
basic wireless routers cost very little (2nd hands one's got be got for pennies), and can be used in the future/left at home for others to use. so the best & easiest is to buy a router
12-23-2009 07:14 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
mattisdada
Full Member
***

Avatar
RRElive.com

Posts: 359
Reputation: 4
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2007
O.P. RE: Is it possible to "trick" an ad hoc network into being a structural?
HA! Done it :)

To get it to work all i did was download this, http://virtualrouter.codeplex.com/Release/Project...px?ReleaseId=36035
And it was that easy.... :)
[Image: Siggy.png]


http://www.rrelive.com/RRElivev2

If you would like my theme for your phpBB3, please contact me.

Thy shouldnt be judged by thy rep givin to you, but by thy rep that you give.
12-24-2009 03:03 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
Pages: (2): « First « 1 [ 2 ] Last »
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On