What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Skype & Technology » Skype & Live Messenger » Essentials Public Beta release

Pages: (31): « First « 12 13 14 15 [ 16 ] 17 18 19 20 » Last »
Essentials Public Beta release
Author: Message:
Hank
Banned


Posts: 3129
Reputation: 5
– / – / Flag
Joined: Nov 2003
Status: Away
O.P. RE: Essentials Public Beta release
quote:
Originally posted by Chrissy
I can, but I didn't ask that?
well i cant see how its gonna fuck a account up if you use the same one.  but as i said, use another account to play with. on the other PC.
06-27-2010 09:23 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Chrissy
Senior Member
****

Avatar

Posts: 850
Reputation: 5
29 / Male / Flag
Joined: Nov 2009
RE: Essentials Public Beta release
First impressions
  • Even in compact view the contacts list is ugly (like spread over the page)
  • No nicknames :(
  • Ads are to big and in your face
  • Layout seems odd and award :/

The sign in Toasts are too big, the old ones were fine.

=> I like the way it's got services that all exchange data and updates.

**For some reason I'm getting told X is now friends with Y, when I don't know them. :S

Not sure if this is nothing new but I don't like the idea you can search for people with there name, email or number. I know you can disable it but the amount of people that have no idea may cause problems.

I don't think of it as an instant messenger anymore. It's more of a social application. They could of just released Messenger and made a Windows Live Social and had Messenger and the social bit to it too.
06-27-2010 09:49 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
Menthix
forum admin
*******

Avatar

Posts: 5537
Reputation: 102
39 / Male / Flag
Joined: Mar 2002
RE: Essentials Public Beta release
Complaining about RAM usage is just silly. I would like most programs to use more RAM. I have 8GB in this machine and it hardly ever gets used even for 50% :(.

Whatever is loaded in RAM doesn't have to be loaded from disk. RAM is a lot faster than a harddisk. As long as memory management is smart enough to cut back on usage when  space is running out. Smart usage of available RAM will only make an app faster.

We don't live in the days anymore when everything had to fit in 640k.

This post was edited on 06-27-2010 at 11:55 AM by Menthix.
Finish the problem
Menthix.net | Contact Me
06-27-2010 11:52 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
Mike
Elite Member
*****

Avatar
Meet the Spam Family!

Posts: 2795
Reputation: 48
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: Mar 2003
Status: Online
RE: Essentials Public Beta release
quote:
Originally posted by Chrissy
Even in compact view the contacts list is ugly (like spread over the page)

If you decrease the width of the contact list enough, there will only be one column of contacts.
YouTube closed-captions ripper (also allows you to download videos!)
06-27-2010 12:04 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
Chrissy
Senior Member
****

Avatar

Posts: 850
Reputation: 5
29 / Male / Flag
Joined: Nov 2009
RE: Essentials Public Beta release
Aye, but the window is not maximized :(
06-27-2010 12:05 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
Nagamasa
Skinning Contest Winner
*****

Avatar

Posts: 1842
Reputation: 30
30 / Male / Flag
Joined: May 2006
RE: Essentials Public Beta release
quote:
Originally posted by ICQ
this is to funny :refuck:  how could this be? WLM taking more Ram than firefox
:rofl:, but my Firefox is spammed with tabs, so it's around 200MB :P

But yeah it's around 65 for me.
[Image: unled1uo.png]
Joined this forum 6490 days, 22 hours, 24 minutes, 24 seconds ago.



06-27-2010 12:19 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
Eddie
Veteran Member
*****


Posts: 2078
Reputation: 30
32 / Male / Flag
Joined: Oct 2005
Status: Away
RE: Essentials Public Beta release
Anyone using the new beta, the way I am seeing it, you cannot contact your facebook contacts unless they are on your messenger list also? And secondly in the social section is there a way of stopping posts from specific facebook users coming up or not?
...there used to be a signature here :)
06-27-2010 04:38 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
Menthix
forum admin
*******

Avatar

Posts: 5537
Reputation: 102
39 / Male / Flag
Joined: Mar 2002
RE: Essentials Public Beta release
quote:
Originally posted by Eddie
you cannot contact your facebook contacts unless they are on your messenger list also?
Facebook chat isn't added yet, is still coming.

quote:
Originally posted by http://windowsteamblog.com/windows_live/b/windowslive/archive/2010/06/23/announcing-the-new-windows-live-essentials-beta.aspx#comments
good news for you regarding XMPP and Facebook Chat integration.  Like we announced a few weeks ago and again earlier this week with the new Messenger iPhone app, Facebook Chat (via XMPP) *is* coming and will be available later this year.   This will let you do Facebook Chat natively from the Messenger Client, from WebIM in Hotmail and throughout Skydrive and our other web sites, and via the Messenger iPhone app.   stay tuned :)
Finish the problem
Menthix.net | Contact Me
06-27-2010 06:08 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
Dragunov
Full Member
***

Avatar

Posts: 140
42 / Male / Flag
Joined: Nov 2004
RE: Essentials Public Beta release
Don't know if this bug is said before:

I always need to install the platform update on my Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 64-bit system and the update is already installed (KB971644)

I already uninstalled those updates, rebooted machine, reinstalled them again, a new reboot,....

Retried to install the new Essentials Beta again, it says again to install the Platform Update

Solution?

Thanks in advance!
- HP Envy 17

- Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

betatested: Atlantis, Troopers, U2XMP, Far Cry MP

06-27-2010 09:11 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
Hank
Banned


Posts: 3129
Reputation: 5
– / – / Flag
Joined: Nov 2003
Status: Away
O.P. RE: Essentials Public Beta release
quote:
Originally posted by Menthix
Complaining about RAM usage is just silly. I would like most programs to use more RAM. I have 8GB in this machine and it hardly ever gets used even for 50% :(.

Whatever is loaded in RAM doesn't have to be loaded from disk. RAM is a lot faster than a harddisk. As long as memory management is smart enough to cut back on usage when  space is running out. Smart usage of available RAM will only make an app faster.

We don't live in the days anymore when everything had to fit in 640k
would you like to pay for a New Motherboard for me that allows up to 8Gig Ram? im sure others would like that to. sure i have 4gigs ram on my board but not the point when Firefox takes so much ram. then you got Thunderbird that takes up to 60MB ram then you  got WLM2010 that takes up to nearly a whopping 70MB ram.  you keep those running an your system will crash with the famous BSOD. so complaining about the Ram usage is not silly IMO. it uses fuck all CPU.

i wouldnt mind having a bet why its using so much Ram, cause it displays Photo's also from facebook, where as trillian doesnt do that, just displays the text.

This post was edited on 06-28-2010 at 02:44 AM by Hank.
06-27-2010 10:45 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Pages: (31): « First « 12 13 14 15 [ 16 ] 17 18 19 20 » Last »
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On