What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Skype & Technology » Tech Talk » New CPU help

Pages: (6): « First « 1 [ 2 ] 3 4 5 6 » Last »
New CPU help
Author: Message:
Underlord
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 1037
Reputation: 40
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2003
RE: New CPU help
Find who the motherboard is manafactured by then hop on their website and download the updated bios and the flashing tool.
Are you sure your motherboard supports that processor?

This post was edited on 12-21-2005 at 12:33 PM by Underlord.
12-21-2005 12:29 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Reaper
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 1393
Reputation: 23
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jun 2004
O.P. RE: New CPU help
yeh my mobo does support it.
i think my mobo is intel made becuase yhe chipset is 845PE. but on some system info programs it says my motherboard is Dell Dimension Desktop 4550

[Edit] i updated my BIOS from A01 to A08 but theres still no option to change the multplier or FSB.
could i get a bios flash from intel then use a new BIOS, such as Award?

This post was edited on 12-21-2005 at 01:40 PM by Reaper.
12-21-2005 12:40 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Underlord
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 1037
Reputation: 40
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2003
RE: New CPU help
There are four chipsets starting in 845PE:

Intel® Desktop Board D845PEBT2   
Intel® Desktop Board D845PECE   
Intel® Desktop Board D845PEMY   
Intel® Desktop Board D845PESV

If you tell me which one it is I can find you a link to the bios flash utility or you can look for yourself on http://downloadfinder.intel.com/scripts-df-external/Support_Intel.aspx. It's a Desktop Board.
Try CPU-Z: http://www.cpuid.com/download/cpu-z-131.zip.
12-21-2005 02:06 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Reaper
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 1393
Reputation: 23
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jun 2004
O.P. RE: New CPU help
im lookin inside my computer now, i cant see much telling me what my mobo is. i see MIC written on it and thats it. no other words telling me what it is
i ran CPU-Z, and heres what it showed for the mainboard tab:
[Image: cpuid8xm.png]

[Edit] i looked on the Intel site, and the only motherboard with the 845PE chipet is D845PEMY
http://www.intel.com/products/motherboard/d845pemy/index.htm

This post was edited on 12-21-2005 at 02:18 PM by Reaper.
12-21-2005 02:08 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Underlord
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 1037
Reputation: 40
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2003
RE: New CPU help
http://downloadfinder.intel.com....
Although it's a Dell board so installing an Intel bios for it might not be so good.

This post was edited on 12-23-2005 at 03:10 AM by Underlord.
12-21-2005 02:27 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
colddove
Junior Member
**

Avatar

Posts: 20
40 / Male / –
Joined: Jun 2004
RE: New CPU help
I have a quick question which depending on your answer my be a fix.

After installing the new CPU, did you install your OS from scratch?
If you install a new CPU and don't want to have to reformat, you'll have to install a new HAL. Have you tried reinstalling your OS? What was the speed of your system before you updated your CPU?
12-21-2005 02:29 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Reaper
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 1393
Reputation: 23
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jun 2004
O.P. RE: New CPU help
i didnt reinstall my OS becuase i thought there was no need. HAL? lol care to explain?
my old CPU was 1.8Ghz
but are the chances it will not work/go wrong high or is it really a 50/50 chance?
[Edit] tried one of the programs, it doesnt let me continue becuase its not an intel board :(

This post was edited on 12-23-2005 at 02:12 AM by surfichris.
12-21-2005 02:32 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Underlord
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 1037
Reputation: 40
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2003
RE: New CPU help
Did you update the CPU in a standard Dell PC? This may be the reason the multipliers are not set correctly.

This post was edited on 12-23-2005 at 03:08 AM by Underlord.
12-21-2005 02:36 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Reaper
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 1393
Reputation: 23
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jun 2004
O.P. RE: New CPU help
i bought the comptuer from Dell themselves and and ive changed the CPU, is that what you mean?

This post was edited on 12-23-2005 at 04:31 AM by WDZ.
12-21-2005 02:38 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Underlord
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 1037
Reputation: 40
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2003
RE: New CPU help
quote:
Originally posted by Reaper

i bought the comptuer from Dell themselves and and ive changed the CPU, is that what you mean?
Indeed.

This post was edited on 12-23-2005 at 03:09 AM by Underlord.
12-21-2005 02:43 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Pages: (6): « First « 1 [ 2 ] 3 4 5 6 » Last »
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On