What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » General » General Chit Chat » PS3 or XBOX 360 ?

Pages: (37): « First « 11 12 13 14 [ 15 ] 16 17 18 19 » Last »
PS3 or XBOX 360 ?
Author: Message:
vaccination
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 2513
Reputation: 43
29 / Male / –
Joined: Apr 2005
RE: PS3 or XBOX 360 ?
quote:
Originally posted by andrewdodd13
quote:
Originally posted by vaccination
quote:
Originally posted by andrewdodd13
quote:
Originally posted by vaccination
or you could just the included ethernet cable...
The distance between my room upstairs and the telephone socket downstairs requires 3m of telephone cable. It's quite likely that there's more of a distance for Chris. And I seriously doubt the included ethernet cable is longer than that...
which is why you connect the ethernet to the pc which will be sat right next to it, which had you read any of the posts you'd know is what was being talked about.
Don't you need a Cat 5e crossover cable rather than a standard ethernet one to do that?
ethernet cable comes with the xbox.. 8-)

Whether it's a cat5e or not idk, I've never checked.
[Image: jumbled.png]
04-17-2008 10:24 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
andrewdodd13
Senior Member
****

Avatar
Oh so retro

Posts: 870
Reputation: 16
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2005
RE: PS3 or XBOX 360 ?
Almost all ethernet cables are Cat 5e, but they do not cross-over. You always require a crossover cable to implement a wired ad-hoc network. Usually the router takes care of this.
[Image: AndrewsStyle.png]
04-17-2008 10:43 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
zach
Senior Member
****

Avatar

Posts: 556
Reputation: 18
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2005
Status: Away
RE: PS3 or XBOX 360 ?
I'm pretty sure the cable that comes with the x360 is a straight ethernet (not crossover) cable, but it's used for system link and I used it to go x360 => PC network bridge so idk. I think it's about 8ft but it varies apparently, some come with longer cables.
04-17-2008 10:56 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Th3rmal
Veteran Member
*****

Peek-a-boo! I see you!!

Posts: 1226
Reputation: 26
29 / Male / Flag
Joined: Aug 2005
RE: PS3 or XBOX 360 ?
quote:
Originally posted by zach
I think it's about 8ft but it varies apparently, some come with longer cables.
wouldnt the manufacturers put the same length of wire in all the packs?
You have the intellect comparable to that of a rock. Be proud.
04-17-2008 12:05 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
vaccination
Veteran Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 2513
Reputation: 43
29 / Male / –
Joined: Apr 2005
RE: PS3 or XBOX 360 ?
quote:
Originally posted by andrewdodd13
Almost all ethernet cables are Cat 5e, but they do not cross-over. You always require a crossover cable to implement a wired ad-hoc network. Usually the router takes care of this.
yeah you just plug in the ethernet cable and create a network bridge, why're you making such a fuss about it?
[Image: jumbled.png]
04-17-2008 12:57 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Chris4
Elite Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 4461
Reputation: 84
30 / Male / Flag
Joined: Dec 2004
O.P. RE: PS3 or XBOX 360 ?
quote:
Originally posted by Nathan
So you've changed your mind, and you are going to buy a console?
Might as well :)
Twitter: @ChrisLozeau
04-17-2008 01:57 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Phillip
Senior Member
****

Avatar
c11h15no2

Posts: 548
Reputation: 56
32 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2006
Status: Away
RE: PS3 or XBOX 360 ?
I know what I am going to be getting (H) Xbox ftw.. Well Banjo Kazooie ftw actually 8-) Anyone that doesn't like Banjo Kazooie obviously has serious mental conditions.
[Image: awd.png]
Drawn into the darkness here with your eyes on the prize at stake.
Faint hearts on an endless path letting go of the ones we break.
04-17-2008 02:09 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
andrewdodd13
Senior Member
****

Avatar
Oh so retro

Posts: 870
Reputation: 16
31 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jan 2005
RE: RE: PS3 or XBOX 360 ?
quote:
Originally posted by vaccination
quote:
Originally posted by andrewdodd13
Almost all ethernet cables are Cat 5e, but they do not cross-over. You always require a crossover cable to implement a wired ad-hoc network. Usually the router takes care of this.
yeah you just plug in the ethernet cable and create a network bridge, why're you making such a fuss about it?
I'm not making a fuss, I'm just pointing out.
[Image: AndrewsStyle.png]
04-17-2008 03:04 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
absorbation
Elite Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3636
Reputation: 81
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Feb 2005
RE: PS3 or XBOX 360 ?
Banjooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo! :D
04-17-2008 03:24 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Volv
Skinning Contest Winner
*****

Avatar

Posts: 1233
Reputation: 31
32 / Male / Flag
Joined: Oct 2004
RE: PS3 or XBOX 360 ?
Yay Banjo Threeie!
04-17-2008 03:53 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Pages: (37): « First « 11 12 13 14 [ 15 ] 16 17 18 19 » Last »
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On